ChartGrid for huge datafiles

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
bamboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 am

ChartGrid for huge datafiles

Post by bamboo » Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:49 am

ChartGrid show multiple entries of the same data entry when loading huge data files (more than 30000 data entries) but is fine for smaller data files (less than 10000 data entries have been tested).
It also inserts its own data entries in the X column towards the end.

This was tested with ChartGrid, TChart, and TSeriesTextSource created is both design and run-time.

How can I make it see only the data entries in the data file.

Do you have any advise. I am prepared to send you some of my code and the datafile if it will help.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:25 pm

Hi bamboo,

Yes, please. Send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here, or at least, the data file.

You can post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

bamboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 am

Post by bamboo » Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:19 am

Thanks.

I have send you the data file called bamboo_test_data.dat.

Cheers

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:55 am

Hi bamboo,

Sorry but I can't find the file? Where did you post it? Remember files can be posted to our news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments public newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

bamboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 am

Post by bamboo » Fri Jun 06, 2008 8:48 am

Hi there,

I have zipped the file this time around. Hope you can find it.

Thanks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:13 am

Hi bamboo,

Thanks for the file. Could you please let us know which columns are you using for populating your series and, if possible, send a parsed file so that we can use with SeriesTextSource? Or if you already have a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here it would also help.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

bamboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 am

Post by bamboo » Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:09 am

Hi Narcis,

I have used the 2nd (x-axis) and 3rd (y-axis) columns.

To simplify the program you can use the TChart, TChartGrid and TSeriesTextSource. You have to converted the data file to a csv format prior to using it.

Hope this helps.

Thanks.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:57 am

Hi bamboo,

Thanks for the information. Could you please try what I suggested here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

bamboo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 12:00 am

Post by bamboo » Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:28 am

Thanks.

The

Code: Select all

ChartGrid1.Chart := Chart1 
works nice.

I also found that the values in columns 1 and 2 were a bit huge. When I used another huge data file (45000 entries) with smaller values my program was fine.

I have other issues at the moment but I will address as a new topic.

Thanks again.

Post Reply