Bug in Smooth function?

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Maria
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:00 am

Bug in Smooth function?

Post by Maria » Wed May 12, 2010 11:28 am

Hello.

I'm playing with the VCL 2010 demo and I've found a weird behaviour of the Smooth function. It works properly if I define all series and smooth functions (related to those series) using the "Edit chart" option. But if I define series and functions at my source code (exactly the same series and properties as I did before), the smooth functions are not smooth at all. They follow the reference series, but have big deviations (see the attached file, please).
SmoothFunction.jpg
SmoothFunction.jpg (206.24 KiB) Viewed 6203 times
Is this fixed at the release version?, because we were planning to upgrade to use it.

Thanks in advance,
María

Maria
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Bug in Smooth function?

Post by Maria » Wed May 12, 2010 1:06 pm

Forgot to mention... I'm using C++Builder 2010 and Windows 7.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Bug in Smooth function?

Post by Yeray » Wed May 12, 2010 4:15 pm

Hi Maria,

I can see that having some points very near in XValue (in comparison with the other points proximity) the smoothed seems to give an strange behaviour.

Delphi example:

Code: Select all

uses Series, TeeSpline;

var Series1, Series2: TLineSeries;
    TeeFunction1: TSmoothingFunction;

procedure TForm1.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Chart1.View3D:=false;

  Series1:=Chart1.AddSeries(TLineSeries.Create(self)) as TLineSeries;
  Series1.AddXY(0,100);
  Series1.AddXY(100,130);
  Series1.AddXY(100.25,105);
  Series1.AddXY(200,155);

  Series2:=Chart1.AddSeries(TLineSeries.Create(self)) as TLineSeries;
  TeeFunction1:= TSmoothingFunction.Create(self);
  Series2.SetFunction(TeeFunction1);
  Series2.DataSource:=Series1;
end;
I've added it to the defect list to be revised in future releases (TV52014879).
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Benny
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Bug in Smooth function?

Post by Benny » Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:06 pm

Have we found a solution for this issue yet? I'm encountering the same problem...

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Bug in Smooth function?

Post by Yeray » Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:25 pm

Hi,

I'm afraid not yet. I've incremented it's priority.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply