Bottom axis labels

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:25 pm

Hi Yeray,

How many times do I need to say that I am not using custom labels?

Anyway, I tried your code. The memo is empty as Chart1.Axes.Left.Items.Count = 0
I believe it only works if I use custom labels.

Did you try the code in my previous post? Could you please tell why does

Code: Select all

tmpLabelPos := BottomAxis.CalcPosValue(CurrentValue);
tmpLabelSize := Chart.Canvas.TextWidth(CurrentLabel);
some times not return the right values?

What do I need to call instead of

Code: Select all

Chart.Repaint;
to make them return the right values?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:00 pm

Hi SiA,

I've checked that code Yeray posted works fine here using TeeChart Pro v8.03 VCL. Which TeeChart version are you using?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Tue Jun 17, 2008 1:14 pm

Hi Narcís,

I'm using TeeChart Pro v7.12 VCL.

Please read my first post in this thread. I said:
Sorry for bumping this topic. Is this feature available in 7.12?
How could you expect I'm using v8.03 when I was asking about v7.12????? :shock:

I will discuss to see if I can update the TeeChart to v8.03.
Before doing that, could you please tell me: Is there anyway to get those values in v7.12?

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:53 pm

Hi Narcís,

I'm evaluating the TeeChart Pro 8.03.

I see the the MinYValue and MaxYValue do not work anymore when series.color:=clNone.

It is a big problem to me.

My chart has 2 series. 1 has color := clRed. The other one has color := clNone. They both have the same values (between 300~400).
However, when I display this chart, the left axis has wrong scale (between 0~400).
In 7.12 the chart left axis has a good scale (between 300~400).

Could you please explain this behavior??
I have many charts which have invisible series. I cannot upgrade TeeChart to 8.03 and change my entire application.

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:06 pm

Hi Narcís,

Sorry for this triple post, but I have an pressure from the customer.

Could you please answer quickly the question I asked in previous post?
Is there anyway to get those values in v7.12?
Your answer will help to speed up the evaluation process.

Please don't forget explain the different behavior in new version. It is also a very important factor.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:07 pm

Hi SiA,
Could you please answer quickly the question I asked in previous post?
Quote:
Is there anyway to get those values in v7.12?

Your answer will help to speed up the evaluation process.

Please don't forget explain the different behavior in new version. It is also a very important factor.
No, this doesn't work in v7.12. The difference between v7 and v8 is that in v7 Chart1.Axes.Left.Items only works for custom labels.

We'll reply to your other posts ASAP.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:12 pm

Hi SiA,
Did you try the code in my previous post? Could you please tell why does
Code:
tmpLabelPos := BottomAxis.CalcPosValue(CurrentValue);
tmpLabelSize := Chart.Canvas.TextWidth(CurrentLabel);
some times not return the right values?

What do I need to call instead of
Code:
Chart.Repaint;
to make them return the right values?
You may need to call Draw method. If this doesn't help please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:17 pm

Hi SiA,
I'm evaluating the TeeChart Pro 8.03.

I see the the MinYValue and MaxYValue do not work anymore when series.color:=clNone.

It is a big problem to me.

My chart has 2 series. 1 has color := clRed. The other one has color := clNone. They both have the same values (between 300~400).
However, when I display this chart, the left axis has wrong scale (between 0~400).
In 7.12 the chart left axis has a good scale (between 300~400).

Could you please explain this behavior??
I have many charts which have invisible series. I cannot upgrade TeeChart to 8.03 and change my entire application.
I could reproduce the issue here. I'll add it to the defect list to be fixed for future releases. Anyway, in v8 you can do this:

Code: Select all

  Chart1.Axes.Right.SetMinMax(Series2.YValues.MinValue, Series2.YValues.MaxValue);
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:11 am

narcis wrote:Hi SiA,

I could reproduce the issue here. I'll add it to the defect list to be fixed for future releases. Anyway, in v8 you can do this:

Code: Select all

  Chart1.Axes.Right.SetMinMax(Series2.YValues.MinValue, Series2.YValues.MaxValue);
Hi Narcís,

Thanks for this information.

We decided not to upgrade to 8.03 right now and wait for the fix of this defect.

Please inform via email when it's fixed. We will re-consider later.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Jun 19, 2008 8:33 am

Hi SiA,

If you want to be automatically informed of TeeChart new releases announcements please subscribe to our RSS feed.

Anyway, the workaround I suggested wouldn't involve important changes in your current applications.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply