Invalid units in uses clause of demo

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
McStep
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:00 am

Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by McStep » Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:41 pm

Hi,
I compared the source code given by the TeeChart Pro 2012 Demo which lists

Code: Select all

uses
  {$IFNDEF LINUX}
  Windows, Messages,
  {$ENDIF}
  SysUtils, Classes,
  {$IFDEF CLX}
  QGraphics, QControls, QForms, QDialogs, QExtCtrls, QStdCtrls, QComCtrls,
  {$ELSE}
  Graphics, Controls, Forms, Dialogs, ExtCtrls, StdCtrls, ComCtrls,
  {$ENDIF}
  TeeProcs, TeEngine, Chart, TeeEdit;
but when I use Xe3 with simply a TChart on a new form I get:

Code: Select all

uses
  Winapi.Windows, Winapi.Messages, System.SysUtils, System.Variants, System.Classes, Vcl.Graphics,
  Vcl.Controls, Vcl.Forms, Vcl.Dialogs, VCLTee.TeEngine, Vcl.ExtCtrls,
  VCLTee.TeeProcs, VCLTee.Chart;
Is that a special problem of my DelphiXE3 product?

Thanks

McStep

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by Yeray » Thu Mar 21, 2013 4:29 pm

Hi McStep,

This is a question of unit scope names. If the project or the IDE has the appropriate unit scope names defined and the according paths in the according lists, the compiler finds the needed units.
In XE3 we removed the prefixes and we use the unit scope names to avoid some IFDEFs to support older IDEs, but the new IDEs use the unit names with prefixes when adding units automatically to the project.

If you find any error with this, don't hesitate to let us know.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

McStep
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by McStep » Fri Mar 22, 2013 9:35 am

Hi,
I think a hint refering to the USES clause could have been helpful in your Help -> section: working with series or right in the beginning in section: Getting started.

A look on your SPC-Sample in the Demo -> New Features -> Functions -> SPC gives rise to some questions for me. Im my opinion some of the points of the series a clear outliers beeing more than 3 standard deviations from the mean, so clear "out of control". They do not follow your rules beeing presented in the legend. What ist the reason for some points beeing presented as squares when others are shown in circles?

Thanks for your help.

McStep

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by Narcís » Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:02 am

Hi McStep,
I think a hint refering to the USES clause could have been helpful in your Help -> section: working with series or right in the beginning in section: Getting started.
Of course we could have made this clear. However, this change was required by the inclusion of the Firemonkey framework in RAD Studio. This required units to have VCL*./FMX*. prefixes for units to either target one framework or the other. VCL./FMX. could not be used as they were reserved for Embarcadero components.
A look on your SPC-Sample in the Demo -> New Features -> Functions -> SPC gives rise to some questions for me. Im my opinion some of the points of the series a clear outliers beeing more than 3 standard deviations from the mean, so clear "out of control". They do not follow your rules beeing presented in the legend. What ist the reason for some points beeing presented as squares when others are shown in circles?
A squared pointer is to mark that a point accomplishes at least one of the rules implemented. This is what I get with the demo here:
SPC.png
SPC.png (29.99 KiB) Viewed 7977 times
Could you point to the points you think are not marked correctly? Otherwise, can you send an example demonstrating that?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

McStep
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by McStep » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:32 pm

Hi Narcis,

First of all. I 'm thankfull for your help and soon responses.
Your QC-Chart definitely looks different from the charts I get in the demo.
[img]
SPC_TChart.png
SPC_TChart.png (37.73 KiB) Viewed 7964 times
[/img]
All Points are shown in the same color. I can't find the reason, why for example the first point in area marked 1 is a circle and the second is a square, The second area shows two outliers where both points are squares. In area marked with 3 I can 't figur out the rules, why the two points are shown as squares.

I agree that the grafik you presented looks much better.
What did I miss in my demo?

McStep

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by Narcís » Fri Mar 22, 2013 3:46 pm

Hi McStep,

I could reproduce this problem with the demo compiled with latest binary installers. The image I sent is generated with the demo compiled with our internal sources so probably it was a bug that has been fixed. We can try to compile a new demo and send it, if you like. Otherwise you may expect it to be fixed for the next maintenance release.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

McStep
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by McStep » Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:22 am

Hi Narcis,
So I will have to wait for the next release. I want to use the SPC-feature, want to couple SPC-grafics as Sten Westgard uses them for two or more reference materials. Multirules will be a theme too. I want to implement them, because they are common tools in clinical and enveronmental labs.
http://www.westgard.com/westgard-rules- ... m#westgard

Best regards

McStep

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Invalid units in uses clause of demo

Post by Yeray » Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:05 pm

Hi McStep,

The last release has a problem with GetPointerStyle event affecting this (TV52016487).
You can wait for the next maintenance release, if you are a source code customer we can tell you in what does the fix consist so you can apply it yourself, or you could loop the series values and change the ValueColor[valueIndex] of the points according to the desired rules.
Ie, if the series being drawn is named Series2, and the color lines that control the limits are called ChartTool5 and ChartTool6 (as in the demo), here is how you could check the "outside control limits":

Code: Select all

procedure TForm1.CheckRule1;
var valueIndex: Integer;
begin
  for valueIndex:=0 to Series2.Count-1 do
  begin
    if (Series2.YValue[ValueIndex] > ChartTool5.Value) or
       (Series2.YValue[ValueIndex] < ChartTool6.Value) then

      Series2.ValueColor[valueIndex]:=clRed
    else
      Series2.ValueColor[valueIndex]:=clTeeColor;
  end;
end;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply