NearestTool, VC6++

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
mexx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:00 am
Location: Germany

NearestTool, VC6++

Post by mexx » Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:50 pm

Hello,

I'm not able to add a nearest tool to my chart. Using TeeChart 5.0.7.0, VC6++, I use the following code:

m_Chart.GetAspect().SetView3D(false);
m_Chart.AddSeries(scLine);
m_Chart.Series(0).FillSampleValues(10);

m_Chart.GetTools().Add(4); // tcNearest = 4
m_Chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).SetActive(true);
m_Chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetSeries(COleVariant("Series0"));
m_Chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetDrawLine(false);
m_Chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetSize(15);
m_Chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetStyle(hsDiamond);

However, the nearest tool does not appear. Already searched this forum but in the code examples I found I cannot see a difference.

Thanks,
mexx

naiditsch
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by naiditsch » Thu Jan 06, 2005 2:08 pm

When I search the internet I find the following sample code:

VARIANT TheSeries;
TheSeries.vt=VT_I2;
TheSeries.intVal=0;
m_chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetSeries(TheSeries);
TheSeries.intVal=2;
m_chart.GetTools().GetItems(0).GetAsNearest().SetSeries(TheSeries);

Have you tried this ??

Bye,
Michael Kuelshammer
Germany

mexx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by mexx » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:43 pm

Michael,

thanks for your help! Ok, using VARIANT works. However, another problem appears. Looks like the nearest point tool is not able to lock onto points that are positioned on one of the axes:

m_Chart.GetAspect().SetView3D(false);
m_Chart.AddSeries(scLine);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(0, NULL, 1);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(10, NULL, 2);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(0, NULL, 3);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(10, NULL, 4);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(0, NULL, 5);
m_Chart.Series(0).Add(10, NULL, 6);

This will create a Zig-Zag sample series. The nearest tool will only lock on the first two "10"-values, not on any other (those all lie on one of the axes). When i manually move the series so that the points are not anymore on an axis, I can also lock the other points.

However, this is hardly useful as my usage for the nearest tool is to analyze/find points that are hard to spot AS they are positioned on an axis.
Anyway to fix this?

Regards,
mexx

naiditsch
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by naiditsch » Thu Jan 06, 2005 3:59 pm

In TeeChart Pro AX V7 example under the item "All features/Tools/Nearest Point" I can change the values to the values that you have posted (0,10,0,10), there I see no problem to find the nearest point that lie on the x-axis.

I think it's a problem of your old Version 5 ActiveX control.

Bye,
Michael Kuelshammer
Germany

mexx
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by mexx » Thu Jan 06, 2005 4:15 pm

Tried that using my TeeChart Pro AX v5 Features Demo. When I enter the data however, then resize the diagram using zoom-out I notice that the 0x,0y point does not reset exactly on the axes, but is slightly set off. Looks like there is some kind of margin set.

Therefore, the 0-values etc do not lie on the axis but slighty "hover above", and the nearest tool is able to find them.

I'll look whether im eligible for an version update however, maybe this is fixed in a never version.

Thanks,
mexx

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:47 am

Hi mexx,

yes, this is a problem that has been fixed in the latest TeeChart Pro v7.

Post Reply