0.1 in logarithmic mode

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Nati
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 am

0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Nati » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:46 am

Hi,

sorry for the small image.
the question is marked in circle. when using logarithmic mode, the 0.1 value on the Y axis is located below the X axis level.
is there a way to make this 0.1 value appears on the same level as X axis?
thanks
Attachments
log.JPG
log.JPG (2.63 KiB) Viewed 10063 times

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Sandra » Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:38 pm

Hello Nati,
I couldn't reproduce your problem here, using last version of TeeChartVCL and next code:

Code: Select all

uses Series;
procedure TForm2.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var Series1:TLineSeries;
    i:Integer;
begin
     Chart1.View3D:=False;
     Series1 := TLineSeries.Create(self);
     Chart1.AddSeries(Series1);
     for i := 0 to 20 do
     begin
      Series1.AddXY(i,2.0E-3*(5*i-50)*(2*i-10)+5);
     end;
     Chart1.Axes.Left.Logarithmic:=True;
     Chart1.Axes.Left.Increment:=1;
end;
Could you tell us if your problem with label axis, appears using previous code? If previous code doesn't works as you want, please modifies it so we can help you find a good solution for you.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nati
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Nati » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:41 pm

hi

first things first: im using version 8.05.50522
in my project, when i added the line: Chart1.Axes.Left.Increment:=1; (before it was 0) then 0(zero) was at X axis level but the Y axis wasn't in the way we expect it to be, we want it to show 1, 10, 100, 1000... (just like it does when Chart1.Axes.Left.Increment := 0) - see attached (loga2.jpg), the -0.1 value is gone which is good but the values on Y axis lost the 1,10,100,1000 sequence

change your code to make a graph with values around 1, 10, 100, 1000 etc... and Chart1.Axes.Left.Increment:=0 (zero), you will see the -0.1 value below the X axis just like in the image i posted in my first topic - i also attached a new image here where you can see the Y axis values and the -0.1 value below the X axis

thanks
Attachments
loga-below-x.JPG
loga-below-x.JPG (4.63 KiB) Viewed 10024 times
loga2.JPG
loga2.JPG (4.57 KiB) Viewed 10015 times

Nati
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Nati » Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:02 am

hi

is there an update on this issue?
thanks

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Sandra » Wed Dec 22, 2010 1:43 pm

Hello Nati,

Sorry for the delay. I have made a new code using values from 0.01 to 1.0E+5:

Code: Select all

uses Series;
procedure TForm2.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var Series1:TLineSeries;
    i:Integer;
begin
     Chart1.View3D:=False;
     Series1 := TLineSeries.Create(self);
     Chart1.AddSeries(Series1);
    with  Series1 do
    begin
          AddY(1.0E-3);
          AddY(1.0E-2);
          AddY(1.0E-1);
          AddY(1.0E+1);
          AddY(1.0E+2);
          AddY(1.0E+3);
          AddY(1.0E+4);
          AddY(1.0E+5);
    end;
     Chart1.Axes.Left.Logarithmic:=True;
end;
And I have checked that in last version 8.07 it works fine as show in next image:
TChart1.jpg
TChart1.jpg (38.09 KiB) Viewed 9986 times
So, I recommend you download last version 8 of TeeChartVCL and check again if your problem persist.

I hope will help.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nati
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Nati » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:00 am

hi

i downloaded 8.07 but it seems to fail to connect to the internet to check my license/password
it asks twice how to connect to the internet, i tried both direct and proxy but both failed and then it says that the license/password is incorrect so im not sure if it fails because it can't connect to the internet or because it thinks the license/password are wrong, needless to say that i enter the same credentials as i do when logging in to this forum.

what am i missing? is there an offline way to install the new version?
thanks

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Sandra » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:36 am

Hello Nati

By default the activation is done via internet and it will fail if you don't have internet connection or a firewall blocks the installer access to the internet. Anyway, you can write an e-mail Sales Dept. at sales at steema dot com. providing the key the installer generated to register the product manually if the installer fails to conect to the internet and prompts you to do so.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nati
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Nati » Sun Dec 26, 2010 8:48 am

hi

after fighting the latest version installation process, i managed to install it but the same happens. i show you an image (of bar series) with the problem, you used a different kind of graph, not sure why,
so 2 things:
1) please use a bar series!
2) if you still dont see the problem on your side, please attach your demo so i can work on it and show you the problem.

thanks

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: 0.1 in logarithmic mode

Post by Sandra » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:12 am

Hello Nati,

I have done your suggestion and I have changed TLineSeries to TBarSeries:

Code: Select all

uses Series;
procedure TForm2.FormCreate(Sender: TObject);
var Series1:TBarSeries;
    i:Integer;
begin
     Chart1.View3D:=False;
     Series1 := TBarSeries.Create(self);
     Chart1.AddSeries(Series1);
    with  Series1 do
    begin
          AddY(1.0E-3);
          AddY(1.0E-2);
          AddY(1.0E-1);
          AddY(1.0E+1);
          AddY(1.0E+2);
          AddY(1.0E+3);
          AddY(1.0E+4);
          AddY(1.0E+5);
    end;
     Chart1.Axes.Left.Logarithmic:=True;
end;
And I get next result:
TChartBar.jpg
TChartBar.jpg (39.32 KiB) Viewed 9917 times
Could you confirm us, that your problem is the same of above image? If it isn't the same, please modify previous code, because we can reproduce it here.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply