Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Wed Dec 01, 2010 9:54 am

Hello everyone,

I have continued testing this issue and can't reproduce it consistently, it's somewhat random. Do you know of a consistent way to reproduce it?

Hein, did this occur using Remote Desktop at your end as well?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

WilliEbert
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by WilliEbert » Wed Dec 01, 2010 2:46 pm

Hello Narcís
i can reproduce the error if the remote desktop window is minimized and the program is showed normal. If this remote desktop window is in normal window state the error didn't happen. And if the program is minimized on the remote desktop and if the remote desktop is minimized, the error does not happen, too.

Your sincerely

Willi

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Wed Dec 01, 2010 3:26 pm

Hi Willi,

Thanks for the info. Definitely minimizing the Remote Desktop window was the clue. I'll continue investigating.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Thu Dec 09, 2010 12:32 pm

Hi Willi,

This assertion was added for debugging some other issues so you can either compile your projects referencing TeeChart sources and disabling assertions at Project -> Optinons -> Delphi Compiler -> Compiling -> Debugging -> Assertions or directly remove the assertion from the sources. We are considering a definitive solution here as well.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

a_const
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by a_const » Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:13 am

Hello, Narcís.

I can reproduce this error if i switch windows user, when test application (or mine) is running.
I hope that it will be the helpful information:

Call BitBlt (in TTeeCanvas3D.TransferBitmap in TeCanvas.pas) gives
error code = 6 = Invalid descriptor (use GetLastError, FormatMessage).
Error code equals 6 in both methods of reproducing this error (remote access, switch user).

Best Regards

Constantin

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:48 am

Hi Constantin,

I could not reproduce the issue here doing as you reported with the test application. Does this occur with Remote Desktop too or directly working on the machine and just switching users? Does this occur with any specific Delphi version?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

a_const
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by a_const » Tue Feb 22, 2011 9:18 am

Hi Narcis

I use Embarcadero® Delphi® 2010 Version 14.0.3593.25826 and
Hein Gustavsen's example (TeeChartBitBltError).
This error occurs with Remote Desktop too and
and just switching users too?

But in My Program this error occurs directly working on the machine
(without Remote Desktop too and and switching users too), very seldom.
My Project is built by Delphi7 with the same version
TeeChart (TeeChart Pro v2010 Build 2010.01.11004).

I use extended example of TeeChartBitBltError, which writes
call stack by the error (I use JEDI Code Library).
I attach this call stack and extended test project.
I hope, this information will help fix this error.

Best regards, Constantin

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:43 am

Hi Constantin,
But in My Program this error occurs directly working on the machine
(without Remote Desktop too and and switching users too), very seldom.
My Project is built by Delphi7 with the same version
TeeChart (TeeChart Pro v2010 Build 2010.01.11004).
Thanks for the info but I can't still reproduce the problem here switching users. If you can find a consistent way to do so we would be interested in knowing about that.
I use extended example of TeeChartBitBltError, which writes
call stack by the error (I use JEDI Code Library).
I attach this call stack and extended test project.
I hope, this information will help fix this error.
If you could attach this information here we could check if it coincides with what has already been discussed in this thread.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

a_const
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by a_const » Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:20 am

Hi Narcís

I attach example, about which it was told in the last post.
I modified slightly file TeCanvas that the error registered in log.txt.
Modified file is attached also (it is in the project).

Best Regards,
Constantin.
Attachments
TeeChartBitBltError_Ext_D10.zip
Extended example and error call stack
(106.45 KiB) Downloaded 618 times

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:12 am

Hi Constantin,

Thanks for the example project. I could finally reproduce the issue here just switching users but I didn't use your modified TeCanvas.pas as it is very different from the version included with v2010.02.20202. I had to remove JCL* components too. Anyway, I have updated the information at TV52015296, we will continue investigating the issue.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

a_const
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by a_const » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:01 pm

Hi Narcís

I can not understand why You can not reproduce this errir by switching windows user.
I propose you run test application, which is built on my computer.
I want to test: Does it depends on version of Delphi.
I attach test application splitted into 2 parts (maximum size = 512kb).
You can uppack it using WinRAR.
This test application is built on Embarcadero® Delphi® 2010 Version 14.0.3593.25826,
using TeeChart Pro 2010 02 20202 (without modidfications).
This test application writes error into file "Log.txt".

Best Regards, Constantin
Attachments
TeeChartBitBltError.rar
First part
(438.81 KiB) Downloaded 680 times

a_const
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by a_const » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:06 pm

Hi Narcís

Second Part
You should rename into TeeChartBitBltError.ra1
Attachments
TeeChartBitBltError.zip
second part, rename extension into .ra1
(386.84 KiB) Downloaded 635 times

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Error transferring internal Bitmap using BitBlt

Post by Narcís » Fri Feb 25, 2011 7:56 am

Hi Constantin,

I'd like to apologise if my previous reply was not clear enough. I COULD reproduce the problem here quite easily switching users. Actually what I wrote in my previous reply is:
Narcís wrote:I could finally reproduce the issue here ...
Anyway, thanks for your feedback and interest on helping us reproducing the issue. We will continue investigating it with the new information you provided.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply