Display issue when using UseOrigin property

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
mcpang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:00 am

Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by mcpang » Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:24 am

Hi,

The issue occurs in Tchart 2009 with the following scenarios:
- UseOrigin of bar is set to false.
- MultiBar of bar is set to SideAll.

If we change the UseOrigin to true OR Multibar set to Side, we will not have any issue.

We do not see this issue in the older version of Tchart.

Refer to TestBarChart_SideAll_UseOrigin.zip for sample application.
Attachments
TestBarChart_SideAll_UseOrigin.zip
(14.83 KiB) Downloaded 622 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by Yeray » Mon Jun 07, 2010 12:01 pm

Hi mcpang,

You are right. I could reproduce it with the following (simpler) code so I've added to the defect list to be fixed asap (TF02014942):

Code: Select all

            tChart1.Aspect.View3D = false;

            Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar bar1 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);
            Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar bar2 = new Steema.TeeChart.Styles.Bar(tChart1.Chart);

            bar1.Add(-10);
            bar1.Add(-20);
            bar2.Add(-30);
            bar2.Add(-40);

            //bar1.Add(10);  //scroll down the chart
            //bar1.Add(20);
            //bar2.Add(30);
            //bar2.Add(40);

            bar1.UseOrigin = false;
            bar1.MultiBar = Steema.TeeChart.Styles.MultiBars.SideAll;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

mcpang
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by mcpang » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:33 am

Hi Yeray,

Is there any date that we are looking at for the fix to be released? or does the 2010 version of Teechart resolve this issue?

Sandra
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3132
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by Sandra » Wed Jun 09, 2010 11:26 am

Hello mcpang,
or does the 2010 version of TeeChart resolve this issue?
It problem it isn't resolved in last version of TeeChart2010.
Is there any date that we are looking at for the fix to be released?
I'm afraid not yet. I recommend you to be aware at this forum or subscribe to our RSS news feed for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.

Thanks,
Best Regards,
Sandra Pazos / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by Yeray » Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:30 pm

Hi mcpang,

I'm pleased to announce that the problem (TF02014942) has been already solved and the fix will be available with the next maintenance release. At the same time, note that setting UseOrigin to false doesn't change the other Bar series have the same UseOrigin value, so you should set it for all the series you want.

On the other hand, while investigating this, we've seen that, right now, UseOrigin=false is drawn like if the origin were on Negative Infinite. Thinking about it, we doubt on the logic about that and if there would be someone interested on bars with the origin on Positive Infinite.

So we'd be pleased if you (and anyone else interested) could share your opinion with us.
By now, here there are some possibilities:

- A boolean like NegativeInfinite, true by default, that, when UseOrigin were false would define the direction of the bars.

- Continue with the bars going to the Negative Infinite and draw them inverted when the vertical axis assigned were set to be Inverted.

- Other possibilities?
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

AIS
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by AIS » Mon Jun 14, 2010 7:18 am

Hi Yeray,

what about something like this

Code: Select all

enum OriginValues
{
/// <summary>
/// before: UseOrigin = true
/// </summary>
Zero,
/// <summary>
/// default value
/// before: UseOrigin = false
/// </summary>
NegativeInfinite,
/// <summary>
/// new value
/// </summary>
PositiveInfinite
}

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Display issue when using UseOrigin property

Post by Yeray » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:22 am

Hi,

Thanks for the suggestion, I've opened a new ticket to the wish list with your suggestion so it will studied deeper for inclusion in further releases (TF02014971).
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply