About Custom Axis

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
johnnix
Advanced
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:00 am

About Custom Axis

Post by johnnix » Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:01 pm

Hello,

I have a chart where I am using a custom axis. I use the OnClickAxis event and I cannot find any way to know that the axis I clicked is the custom Axis. Any help will be mostly appreciated :)

Kindest regards

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by Yeray » Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:54 pm

Hi johnnix,

The following code seems to work fine.

Code: Select all

procedure TForm1.Chart1ClickAxis(Sender: TCustomChart; Axis: TChartAxis;
  Button: TMouseButton; Shift: TShiftState; X, Y: Integer);
var i: Integer;
begin
  for i:=0 to Chart1.Axes.Count-1 do
    if (Axis = Chart1.Axes[i]) then showmessage('clicked ' + IntToStr(i));
end;
Could you please send us a simple example project we can run as-is to reproduce the problem here?
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

johnnix
Advanced
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:00 am

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by johnnix » Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:56 am

Hello Yeray,

Maybe I was not clear enough :) What I need to do is to identify that the axis I clicked is my custom axis. In the ClickAxis event I can check the Horizontal property of Axis to determine if it is the X or Y axis but there is no property like IsCustom!!! Is this clear?

Regards

johnnix
Advanced
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:00 am

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by johnnix » Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:39 am

Hello,

Just figured out that Axis.Index is -1 for default axis so by checking this value I know if I clicked on the custom Axis.

Regards

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by Yeray » Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:58 am

Hi johnnix,

I'm glad to see that you've found it! Thanks for sharing.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

johnnix
Advanced
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:00 am

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by johnnix » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:02 am

Hello Yeray,

No problem, just consider adding a property e.g. IsCustom !!!

Regards

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: About Custom Axis

Post by Yeray » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:23 am

Hi jonnyx,

There is already a private IsCustom function but making it public needs some adjustments because right now it fails if you remove some of the default axes.
I've added it to the wish list to be revised for further releases (TV52014703).
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply