AccessViolations with TeeChart 8.04 and BCB2007

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
HFechner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Germany Dresden

AccessViolations with TeeChart 8.04 and BCB2007

Post by HFechner » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:17 pm

Hi,

I have some problems with the actual TeeChart version (8.04) and some features from TSurfaceSeries and TContourSeries (in BCB2007).
Some internal pointers seems to be uninitialized. Up to now i found
from TContourSeries
ContourMarks, Levels, Smoothing
from TSurfaceSeries
WaterLines
Sometimes the pointers are 0 and sometimes it haves invalid values. This makes this features unusable. I saw a similar problems some threads ago. I tried to initialize these pointers by myself but this doesn't work. After i assigned the new value the internal pointer keeps 0. Example below

Code: Select all

TSmoothPoints* sp = new TSmoothPoints(CSer);
CSer->Smoothing = sp; // after this Smoothing keeps 0
Furthermore i had problems with TCustom3DGridSeries. If i want to use TColorGridSeries i always have AccessViolations coming from TCustom3DGridSeries::GridIndex. Each access to this variable (read size or something) leads to an AccessViolation. I solved this problem by creating my own version of TCustom3DGridSeries and TColorGridSeries (in C++). But I'm really wants to know wants wrong there.

by
Last edited by HFechner on Tue Nov 18, 2008 5:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Nov 18, 2008 3:46 pm

Hi HFechner,

Sorry but it's not clear to us what you are trying to achieve here. Could you please give us some more details along with a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

HFechner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Germany Dresden

Post by HFechner » Tue Nov 18, 2008 4:16 pm

Ok,

I uploaded a sample project on your upload page. In this i have a TChart on a formular. In the constructor of the form i created a TContourSeries dynamically. After this you can see that the members Levels, Smoothing and ContourMarks are invalid pointers.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:54 am

Hi HFechner,

Thanks for the example project.

First problem is with the data you are using. If you comment in the CSer->ContourMarks->Visible = false; line the application doesn't crash but you don't get any series plotted either. You should swap Y and Z values in your series like this:

Code: Select all

	CSer->AddXYZ(1,1,1,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(2,2,1,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(3,3,1,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(1,4,2,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(2,5,2,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(3,6,2,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(1,7,3,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(2,8,3,"",clTeeColor);
	CSer->AddXYZ(3,9,3,"",clTeeColor);
For more information on how to populate such series styles please read this thread.

Anyway, uncommenting again line mentioned above the application still crashes. We will investigate the issue here and will get back to you when we have further news.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Nov 24, 2008 5:47 pm

Hello,

As an update, we found that this is a bug and added the issue (TV52013596) to the defect list to be fixed for next releases. A workaround would be doing this at designtime
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

HFechner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Germany Dresden

Post by HFechner » Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:31 pm

Which workaround can solve this problem?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:21 pm

Hi HFechner,

As I told you, the only workaround we can think of now is doing this at designtime.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

HFechner
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Germany Dresden

Post by HFechner » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:34 pm

Ok, this is not possible for me. Therefore i have to wait for the fix.

Thanks

Post Reply