language changes

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
selectric
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am

language changes

Post by selectric » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:21 am

Hello Steema,
I have a question about the language settings for the following scenario:
1. A user is redirected to an asp page containing the teechart8Langs.ocx and decides to install it.

Question:1 What language the edit chart interface will be in and how is this determined? From my experiment the install of the .ocx does not create a regisry entry Language and the interface it is shown in English by default. Is this the case?
Question:2 How can the language be changed?

Thanks!

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Feb 12, 2008 11:05 am

Hi selectric,

Please find below the answers to your questions:

1. Yes, this will be default setting.

2. You can change it at runtime as described in the Usage notes.txt document included with the MultiLanguage version installation, for example:

Code: Select all

  TChart1.Language=laGerman    
  'integer value from 0 to 36
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

selectric
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am

Problem with Language change persists

Post by selectric » Tue Feb 12, 2008 6:35 pm

Hello Steema,

the suggested change did not have any effect. My problem is exactly as described in this post http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... a1eae77592 I was wondering if this has been taken care of in version 8.

We are using the Unicode Multilanguage ocx and when loaded on the client side the chart has axis and series titles as @U#492062. If the same chart is viewed on the machine where IIS is running (and teechartPro is installed) the titles are displayed correctly.

Lastly some of the chart edit interfaces have mixed language text(tabs,dropdown lists, etc.). Is this something that you are working on?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Feb 15, 2008 3:55 pm

Hi selectric,

For changing the language you should do as I told in previous message. If your application doesn't find the language constant definition you can find corresponding index at Usage notes.txt available at C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v8 ActiveX MultiLang Components. So, for example, setting language to German would be:

Code: Select all

  TChart1.Language=8   
  'integer value from 0 to 36
Regarding the header issue, you should use CodeUTF8String method as shown here.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

selectric
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am

One more detail

Post by selectric » Tue Feb 19, 2008 12:09 am

Hello Narcis,

Thanks for your responces

I have not been able to change the language of a chart that is streamed to a client. Here is what I have done:
1. On the server side I create a TeeChart control and add my series etc.
2. On the cilent side the code is as follows:

Code: Select all

%>
			<object
				id="clientChart"
				width="875"
				height="540"
				classid="clsid:BDEB0088-66F9-4A55-ABD2-0BF8DEEC1196"
				language=8
				codebase="<% =cabURL %>" >
			</object>
<%
But this has no effect on the client chart. Upon download and installation of the TeeChart8Langs.ocx an entry Language with a default value of ffffff is created and subsecuently English is the default chart language. If I change the registry entry language at the client manually then I can get the chart editor in the desired language. This is very clumsy though. Is there an alternative?

Thanks,
selectric

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:07 am

Hi selectric,

You need to use languaged for changing the language in an object created in an html page. We had to change this as language is a reserved word.

Also notice that new v8.0.0.3 multilanguage and unicode versions are available at the client download area.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

selectric
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am

Unicode series title

Post by selectric » Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:48 pm

Hello steema,
thanks for your help. I have been able to do almost everything that I needed to. One last thing remains though. I am using the lattest unicode multi-language ocx .If a set a series name say "Ic" when I navigate to edit graph -> series -> title I see this @U#492063. If I change the series name though to "Ic" it is displayed correctly. Could you advise me on how to fix this. I tried the following

Code: Select all

.Series(seriesNum).Title = .Environment.CodeUTF8String("Ic", True)
but to no avail.

Thanks!

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Mar 18, 2008 9:29 am

Hi selectric,

Are you using v8.0.0.3 version?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

selectric
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am

Using the newest version

Post by selectric » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:24 pm

Hello,

yes I have downloaded and I am using the newest version.

Thanks!

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Tue Mar 25, 2008 10:17 am

Hi selectric,

yes, for the moment the texts displayed into the TeeChart Editor are not unicode compatibles (still displayed codified). We'll try to improve this for the next releases of TeeChart AcitiveX.

Post Reply