Display problem in area mode

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Nico
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:00 am
Location: France

Display problem in area mode

Post by Nico » Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:32 am

Hi,

We are facing a problem of curve display in area mode.
The serie is defined with following 6 points (X, Y) :
(1, 0)
(2, 0)
(2, 6)
(3, 6)
(4, 6)
(5, 6)
The serie pen width is 3, color is blue.
The serie color brush for area drawing is yellow.

On the rising edge (abscissa 2), the area drawing overlaps the blue line.

Is there a way to avoid this behaviour ?

Thx

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:10 pm

Hi Nico,

Using TeeChart Pro v8.02 VCL I've created a chart as you described using this code:

Code: Select all

  With Series1 do
  begin
    Pen.Color:=clBlue;
    Pen.Width:=3;
    AreaColor:=clYellow;
    AddXY(1, 0);
    AddXY(2, 0);
    AddXY(2, 6);
    AddXY(3, 6);
    AddXY(4, 6);
    AddXY(5, 6);
  end;
Which produce this chart:

Image

Can you please confirm that the lines you mean are the ones pointed by the arrows I drew to the chart?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nico
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:00 am
Location: France

Post by Nico » Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:47 pm

Hi,

Thank you very much for your quick answer.

I am sorry but I forgot to give details concerning my environment :
- TeeChart PRO v7.11 VCL
- coding with CodeGear DELPHI2007
- using 2d series

Our problem is that blue line on rising-edge at abscissa 2 has a width of 1 instead of 3.

Tell me if it is better that I send you a screenshot.

Thanks again.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:04 pm

Hi Nico,

Yes, please. Could you send your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page?

Thanks in advance!
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nico
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:00 am
Location: France

Post by Nico » Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:47 am

Hi,

I've uploaded the screenshot in my upload page.

Thanks for your help

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:25 am

Hi Nico,

Thanks for the image.

I've checked that this works fine for me here using v7.12 (latest v7 release available), adding a TChart with a TAreaSeries in a form and this code:

Code: Select all

  Series1.Pen.Color:=clBlue;
  Series1.Pen.Width:=3;
  Series1.AreaColor:=clYellow;

  Series1.AddXY(0,0);
  Series1.AddXY(1,0);
  Series1.AddXY(1,5);
  Series1.AddXY(2,5);

  Chart1.Axes.Left.MaximumOffset:=10;
  Chart1.Axes.Left.MinimumOffset:=10;
The resulting chart is this:

Image

Could you please check if v7.12 works fine at your end or could you please modify the code so that we can reproduce the code here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Nico
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 4:00 am
Location: France

Post by Nico » Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:51 am

Hi,

You can reproduce the problem adding the line :

Code: Select all

Series1.AreaLinesPen.Visible := FALSE;
You will note that line width on the rising edge is half the defined width.

Thanks

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:59 am

Hi Nico,

Thanks for the information. I've been able to reproduce the issue now and added it (TV52012727) to our defect list to be fixed for future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply