BDS 2006 Installation Problem

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

BDS 2006 Installation Problem

Post by DK2 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:46 pm

Hi, I just upgraded to Tchart Pro 8, for BDS 2006.
I’m using C++ but I keep getting the following error;

Cannot load package Tee810. Its contains TeeAbout, which is also contained in package tee100.

Seems like a conflict of some kind, maybe with the standard Tchart that comes with BDS2006,
any ideas?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Aug 13, 2007 2:51 pm

Hi DK2,

Yes, exactly. This error message means your BDS 2006 is still referencing its default TeeChart packages. Please read this thread on how to solve this issue.

Hope this helps!
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

Post by DK2 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:00 pm

after searching a bit it looks like Fastreport 4 may be the cause.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:10 pm

Hi DK2,

In that case you should check with Fast Reports developing company if the Fast Reports version you own works with TeeChart v8 as they are the ones who create the Fast Reports wrapper for TeeChart. The installation procedure would:

1) Uninstall old TeeChart and Fast Reports (FR) versions
2) Install the latest TeeChart.
3) Install FR which works with TeeChart.
4) If needed, recompile/reinstall FR for TeeChart wrapper packages (again, check with FR about correct procedure).
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

Post by DK2 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 3:22 pm

ya, looks like I also have to upgrade to their latest version too and recompile.
I'll keep you posted..... thanks.

DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

Post by DK2 » Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:42 pm

Okay, I got everything upgraded.

However I get this error now when building an existing application that I was using
Std Chart with. It causes the app to crash even before a form opens.
Strange, because it compiles and links with no errors.

(from EurekaLog)
Error reading Series1->Marks.Callout.Brush.Color: Property Callout does not exist.

A new application project seems to run okay.
Could there be some settings I’m missing with my existing App?

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:08 am

Hi DK2,

In that case, it's most likely that this project is still pointing to old TeeChart references. You should update them as discussed here.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

Post by DK2 » Tue Aug 14, 2007 7:06 pm

That seemed to work, (setting paths for includes and libs) and makes sense too,
however when I run the application now and open the window with the chart
I get an Invalid floating point operation.
The only way I load the data is;
for(ccnt=0; ccnt<128; ccnt++)
Form9->Chart1->Series[0]->AddXY(ccnt, Data[ccnt]);
Doesn’t really get any simpler than that.

I tried changing Data[ccnt] to 1 and rebuilding, but then I’m back to the error
Series1->Marks.Callout.Burush.Color:Propery Callout does not exist.
Even though the paths are set to the new tchart folders.
:?
Works fine with a ‘new’ test project though, so it seems like something in an existing project file, but I can’t see anything when I look through that mess.

So I’m still not sure if everything is installed or set properly.

I could start a new project, and cut&paste everything over…. the last desperate act!

DK2
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 12:00 am

Post by DK2 » Wed Aug 15, 2007 2:14 pm

I did it,
started a new project, and cut and pasted every form and unit into the new one
except the form with the charts on it, I added these manually from the palette.
Everything works now!
I don’t really understand it though, looking through the settings, it all looks the same.
Obviously, something has changed though….

I have another App. that has no charts, so I added one, it also started crashing.
Something lingering in the .bdsproj file perhaps?

Not a solution for some, but,
Luckily I have only 3 somewhat small Apps using BDS2006 that I’ll have to convert.
I upgraded for a new project anyways.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Aug 16, 2007 2:27 pm

Hi DK2,

This may be a known problem in C++ Builder that package names are hard coded and not updated in projects files (.bpr o .bdsproj). The only way to remove old packages from there is manually editing them (with notepad, for example) and remove old package references.

Hope this helps!
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply