Export to PDF fails when chart contains drag marks

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Export to PDF fails when chart contains drag marks

Post by SiA » Fri Apr 28, 2006 8:22 am

Hi,

:arrow: We have a chart containing drag marks (graphical items managed by TDragMarkTool). Export to images formats (BMP, JPG, GIF, PCX) works correctly but Export to PDF fails and an access violation occurs. I think it's due to drag marks.

:?: Is it a TChartPro bug?
:?: Is it possible to correct it by other way?

Best regards

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:23 am

Hi SiA,

I haven't been able to reproduce the problem here using TeeChart Pro v7.07 which has been released this week. Can you please send us an example we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?

You can send your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup.

Thanks in advance.

BTW: Which TeeChart version are you using?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Fri Apr 28, 2006 10:32 am

I have prepared a short example of environment where bug occurs. The chart contains two drag marks.
Click on right mouse in chart and choose "Export PDF".
Observe "Access violation" error message.

The example has been sent to news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:21 am

Hi SiA,

Thanks for the example. I could reproduce the problem using your .exe but worked fine after I built the project with v7.07. Which TeeChart version are you using? Can you please test if v7.07 works at your end?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Fri Apr 28, 2006 12:49 pm

Thanks Narcis,

We use the TeeChartPro v7 (without .xx).
Because internally, it's a long procedure to install a new version of the component, could you send me the build that you have compiled with the v7.07 version? I will rebuild our project with v7.07 at the beginning of next week.

Thanks and Best Regards,

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:58 pm

Hi SiA,

Ok, I've posted it to the attachments newsgroup.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Tue May 09, 2006 8:03 am

Hi Narcis,

:arrow: We have recompiled the source of example that I have sent to you with TeeChartPro v7.07 and we have always the same error during execution :cry:. So, I don't understand why it's working in your environment and not in ours.

:?: Maybe your compiler or execution environment is different. We have compiled with Delphi 6 in Windows XP environment.

:?: Can you help us to investigate?

Thanks and Best regards

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue May 09, 2006 8:25 am

Hi SiA,

I could reproduce the problem here using v7.07 available at our Customer Download Area but works fine for me here using our current sources. I'm going to send you the sources so that you can test if they work at your end.

To compile and install them to your IDE I strongly recomend to use the Recompile tool provided with the source code installer.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

SiA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 5:00 am

Post by SiA » Wed May 31, 2006 7:52 am

Hi Narcis,

The last source (release >7.07) that you have provided fix this defect. But we have a border effect: a problem occurs for series color. Regarding color problem on new TChartPro, I found that when we show outline for a series, the outline is shown correctly with specified color but the series loses its color and becomes black. This behavior of new TChartPro is so different to the old one. Could it be a component bug or because this is not a release with full license, full functionality? I have push the example showing this problem in news.

Best regards,

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Thu Jun 08, 2006 11:14 am

Hi SiA,

when it's a 2D line having the Outline visible you have to change the Pen color of the Series :

Code: Select all

  ShowMessage('Re-assign Series color to Yellow!! Press OK to re-assign!');
  s.Color := clYellow; // <-- Does NOT work if OutLine is Showing. (New TChartPro)
  s.Pen.Color:=clyellow;
  s.RefreshSeries;

Post Reply