Can SeriesXmlSource _append_ data ?

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
ACTL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:00 am

Can SeriesXmlSource _append_ data ?

Post by ACTL » Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:38 pm

Env.: TChart 7.0.0.6

Hi All,

SeriesXmlSource is pretty cool. But I noticed that it erases the existing series data before adding the new data. Is it possible to modify this behaviour. I would like to use it to add data to my time series when user scrolls the time axis.

Also, when getting data for multiple series, is there a way to bind data to existing series instead of creating new ones ?

TIA,

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Dec 19, 2005 4:31 pm

Hi ACTL,
SeriesXmlSource is pretty cool. But I noticed that it erases the existing series data before adding the new data. Is it possible to modify this behaviour. I would like to use it to add data to my time series when user scrolls the time axis.
No, this is not possible for now. However, this has already been implemented for TeeChart Pro v7 VCL, as you can see here, and will be included in the next TeeChart Pro v7 ActiveX maintenance release.
Also, when getting data for multiple series, is there a way to bind data to existing series instead of creating new ones ?
Yes, you can use a series as another series datasource as done here:

Code: Select all

    TChart1.Series(0).FillSampleValues 10
    TChart1.Series(1).DataSource = TChart1.Series(0)
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ACTL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:00 am

Post by ACTL » Mon Dec 19, 2005 5:07 pm

Hi Narcís,

Thanks for the quick reply.

1) Regarding SeriesXmlSource: It's good news ! Which of course triggers another question ;-) : Have you already scheduled this release ? Can I have access to a beta version ?

2) Multiple Series : It looks like I haven't been very clear. I want to use the SeriesXmlSource to retrieve data for several series into one operation. I wanted to know if I can bind some or all of my existing chart series to individual series in the XML file.

Thanks in advance.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:24 pm

Hi ACTL,
1) Regarding SeriesXmlSource: It's good news ! Which of course triggers another question : Have you already scheduled this release ? Can I have access to a beta version ?
Considering that v7.0.0.6 was released a few days ago, I'd say that v7.0.0.7 will be available in about 3 months. However, this is just an estimation as there's not a scheduled release date. Regarding the beta version, we can send you a beta TeeChart7.ocx when available.
2) Multiple Series : It looks like I haven't been very clear. I want to use the SeriesXmlSource to retrieve data for several series into one operation. I wanted to know if I can bind some or all of my existing chart series to individual series in the XML file.


Yes, this is possible, I'd suggest you to run TeeChart features demo, available at TeeChart's program group, and search for "XML". Some examples retrieve data for several series, this may help you.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ACTL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:00 am

Post by ACTL » Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:31 pm

Hi Narcís,
Regarding the beta version, we can send you a beta TeeChart7.ocx when available
I'd love too. Thanks for adding me to your list of beta testers.
Some examples retrieve data for several series, this may help you.
I saw these examples before. But they don't quite fit my needs : They either load one series or the whole set of series. In the latter case, the whole chart seems to be re-created (including the series). I haven't found a way to load the data for an existing chart and tell the XML source object which series of the chart is bound to which series in the xml file. I also didn't find how to prevent the chart from re-creating the series from scratch.

Here's my scenario : The X-axis is date/time. When user scrolls this time axis, I want the HTML page to query the server for the data in the updated (scrolled) time interval.

This is why I need :
1) Adding data instead of clearing chart (user may scroll back to the beginning. I don't want to have to get the data again).
2) I need to be able to retrieve data for all series in the (existing) chart.

BTW, I found a little bug in the features demo :
- In the Search pane, type XML.
- click one of the results.
- click the source tab.
- click another result of the search pane.
-> The result's code is loaded but the active tab incorrectly remains 'Source.

Note: This problem doesn't happen when browsing the 'All Features' pane.

Thanks in advance.

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:38 am

Hi ACTL,
I saw these examples before. But they don't quite fit my needs : They either load one series or the whole set of series. In the latter case, the whole chart seems to be re-created (including the series). I haven't found a way to load the data for an existing chart and tell the XML source object which series of the chart is bound to which series in the xml file. I also didn't find how to prevent the chart from re-creating the series from scratch.

Here's my scenario : The X-axis is date/time. When user scrolls this time axis, I want the HTML page to query the server for the data in the updated (scrolled) time interval.

This is why I need :
1) Adding data instead of clearing chart (user may scroll back to the beginning. I don't want to have to get the data again).
2) I need to be able to retrieve data for all series in the (existing) chart.
Ok, you'll be able to do that when the new property that allows appending data is added to TeeChart.
BTW, I found a little bug in the features demo :
- In the Search pane, type XML.
- click one of the results.
- click the source tab.
- click another result of the search pane.
-> The result's code is loaded but the active tab incorrectly remains 'Source.

Note: This problem doesn't happen when browsing the 'All Features' pane.
We can't reproduce it here. Are you using the latest version available? This was fixed on one of the latest releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

ACTL
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 4:00 am

Post by ACTL » Wed Dec 21, 2005 3:33 pm

Are you using the latest version available?
Hmmm... Probably not : 7.0.0.2.[/quote]

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:08 pm

Hi ACTL,

Then notice that latest version is v7.0.0.6. Can you please if that version works fine for you?
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply