Chart X Axes alignment

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
Mahadevan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:00 am

Chart X Axes alignment

Post by Mahadevan » Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:32 pm

Hi,
I have a problem with the axes alignment in the graph.

When ever a graph is generated with zero values, the x axes gets moved to the center instead of bottom. (Check the file ChartAxesCenter.png uploaded to http://www.steema.net/upload/Default.aspx)
Can you please let me know if there is a way to always place the x-axis in the bottom.

Regards,
Mahadevan

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Yeray » Wed Apr 01, 2009 2:32 pm

Hi Mahadevan,

You always can set left axis minimum and maximum manually. For example:

Code: Select all

tChart1.Axes.Left.SetMinMax(0,1);
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Mahadevan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:00 am

Chart X Axes alignment

Post by Mahadevan » Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:26 pm

Hi Yeray,

Thanks a lot,
tChart1.Axes.Left.SetMinMax(0,1) works.

But I am wondering if there is already a reported bug for this issue(Axes alignment is changing with the data), if not can you please report it.

Thanks And Regards,
Mahadevan

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:12 am

Hi Mahadevan,

I don't think it's a bug. It's by design.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Mahadevan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:00 am

Post by Mahadevan » Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:32 pm

Hi,
I still feel that it is a bug as the graph attributes are changing if the values are zeros.

Can you please add it as a wish if not as a bug

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 03, 2009 9:34 am

Hi Mahadevan,

I may not understand which is the problem here. By default, if all values are zero in an axis or if it has no values zero value is drawn centered in the axis. Is that your problem? If so, what would you expect? If not, could you please give us more details about the exact problem?

Remember that you can manually set axes scales using SetMinMax as Yeray suggested.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Mahadevan
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 12:00 am

Post by Mahadevan » Fri Apr 03, 2009 10:05 am

Hi Narcis,
Yes your understanding is correct.

I would expect that the graph is aligned to the left and bottom (with no negative axis shown if the values are zeros).

May be a property can be added which can control how the graph would look by default (aligned center with all the axes or aligned left with only positive axes)

Thanks And Regards,
Mahadevan

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:16 am

Hi Mahadevan,

Thanks for the information. No negative values are displayed in such cases neither they are on the image you sent. Anyway, I'll add your request to the wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply