Page 1 of 1

Having problem with Reporting Services and Gantt

Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 7:10 pm
by 13045819
I am trying to use a Gantt chart in reporting services and am getting "An error occurred during processing of CustomReportItem 'teeChart1' with the 'TeeChart' extension. Cannot find column -1". I created a simple dataset that uses the following query and, when I run the query, it works fine:

select top 20 'test' as label, row_number() over (order by startdate) % 3 as y, startdate, enddate
from testtable where datediff(m, startdate, getdate()) < 4

the data looks like:

test, 1, 5/1/2007 12:00:00AM, 6/1/2007 12:00:00 AM
...

One thing that I noticed is that the 'Start' field's check box for 'DateTime' in the TeeChart editor will not stay selected. I assume this is causing the problem, but I don't know why.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
LC

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:43 am
by narcis
Hi LC,

Thanks for the information. We have been able to reproduce the problem here with Gantt series in Reporting Services. We have added the defect to our bug list to be fixed for future releases.

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:14 pm
by 13045819
Great...Thanks!

-LC

Any target date for this fix?

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:45 pm
by 13045819
This bug makes the control unusable for my purposes and I was wondering if there was a target date for the fix.

Thanks,
LC

Re: Any target date for this fix?

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:14 pm
by Chris
Hello,
13045819 wrote:This bug makes the control unusable for my purposes and I was wondering if there was a target date for the fix.
This is most regrettable although understandable. This issue affects series which have more than two valuelists, including the gantt series, but does mean that the majority of TeeChart series are not affected. The issue is being worked on but we don't yet have a fixed delivery date that we can commit to. We will let you know as soon as progress is made.

Any traction on this issue yet?

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:29 pm
by 13045819
Just wanted to find out if this bug bad been addressed. It's been months.

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:45 am
by narcis
Hi LC,

No, this issue hasn't been fixed yet.

Re: Any traction on this issue yet?

Posted: Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:58 pm
by Chris
Hello,
13045819 wrote:Just wanted to find out if this bug bad been addressed. It's been months.
We have been able to fix this defect and the fix to it will be included in the next maintenance release, due out the at the beginning of next month.

The data used for the following image of it working is this:

Code: Select all

SELECT        'Design' AS Text, 0 AS Y, 39401.0531610153 AS StartValues, 39413.2377101994 AS EndValues, 5 AS NextTask
UNION
SELECT        'Prototyping' AS EXPR1, 1 AS EXPR2, 39405.846713432 AS EXPR3, 39419.4942081899 AS EXPR4, 6 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Development' AS EXPR1, 2 AS EXPR2, 39406.7551440265 AS EXPR3, 39417.543237177 AS EXPR4, 7 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Sales' AS EXPR1, 3 AS EXPR2, 39410.4227313313 AS EXPR3, 39428.0401860802 AS EXPR4, 9 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Marketing' AS EXPR1, 4 AS EXPR2, 39411.3997654912 AS EXPR3, 39427.0531063257 AS EXPR4, 10 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Testing' AS EXPR1, 5 AS EXPR2, 39417.9958679858 AS EXPR3, 39434.3404755585 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Manufac' AS EXPR1, 6 AS EXPR2, 39420.2945573904 AS EXPR3, 39436.2835833217 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Debugging' AS EXPR1, 7 AS EXPR2, 39423.4364402939 AS EXPR3, 39441.8986841458 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'New Version' AS EXPR1, 8 AS EXPR2, 39425.3801668325 AS EXPR3, 39447.9197742743 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Banking' AS EXPR1, 9 AS EXPR2, 39429.8809323306 AS EXPR3, 39439.6243494673 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
UNION
SELECT        'Design' AS EXPR1, 0 AS EXPR2, 39432.0987197943 AS EXPR3, 39452.1691795602 AS EXPR4, -1 AS EXPR5
Image