Issue with Custom Y-Axis Labels After Using Default Zoom

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
TomAgos
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2025 12:00 am

Issue with Custom Y-Axis Labels After Using Default Zoom

Post by TomAgos » Sun Mar 30, 2025 8:59 am

Hey,

In my app, I create a custom Y-axis like this:

Code: Select all

        public static Axis CreateCustomYAxis(SignalVectorPair svPair)
        {
            var color = ChartDataToZData.MColorToDColor(svPair.VectorM.Color);
            var yAxis = new Axis
            {
                Visible         = false,
                Horizontal      = false,
                Grid            = { Visible = false },
                Labels          = { Font = { Color = color } },
                AxisPen         = { Color = color, Visible = true, Width = 2 },
                Ticks           = { Color = color, Visible = true },
                PositionUnits   = PositionUnits.Pixels                
            };

            if (!string.IsNullOrEmpty(svPair.VectorM.Units))
            {
                yAxis.Title.Text        = $"[{svPair.VectorM.Units}]";
                yAxis.Title.Angle       = 90;
                yAxis.Title.Font.Color  = color;
                yAxis.Title.Font.Size   = yAxis.Labels.Font.Size;
            }

            yAxis.SetMinMax(svPair.SignalM.MinOrFactor, svPair.SignalM.MaxOrOffset);
            return yAxis;
        }
I'm manually setting the Y-axis labels whenever needed (e.g., on zoom, pan, new data, etc.).

Up until now, I handled zooming using the middle mouse scroll. But now I've added support for your default zoom tool (click-and-drag rectangle).

I'm using the Zoomed and UndoneZoom events to re-apply the Y-axis labels, and the events do fire correctly. However, after zooming, the labels appear corrupted — even though debugging confirms they are being set as expected.

I've attached two images:

Before zoom: Y-axis shows 11 labels (as intended).

After zoom: Even though I reset the labels to 11, the axis doesn't render them correctly.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Thanks!
Attachments
after_zoom.png
after_zoom.png (13.43 KiB) Viewed 533 times
before_zoom.png
before_zoom.png (19.05 KiB) Viewed 533 times

Edu
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2023 12:00 am

Re: Issue with Custom Y-Axis Labels After Using Default Zoom

Post by Edu » Mon Mar 31, 2025 11:02 am

Hello TomAgos,

Could you check whether your axis.Increment is set at 0 (automatic)? If so, try assigning a value that better fits your scenario.

If adjusting the Increment value doesn't resolve the issue, please share the code that triggers when zooming. I haven’t been able to replicate the problem naturally on my end, so testing your specific implementation would help me investigate further and assist you more effectively.

Please let me know if this helps or if you need any further assistance. I’ll be happy to look into it!
Best regards,
Edu
Edu
Steema Support

Post Reply