Isometric axis???

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Isometric axis???

Post by Alex » Thu Jan 13, 2005 4:49 pm

Hi!

How can I define in Teechart.NET isometric axis like in VCL? Is there an exact way to do it manually?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards

Alex

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 17, 2005 8:33 am

Hi Axis,

This feature is not implemented in TeeChart for .NET but this can be implemented using custom axis.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:04 am

Hi Narcis,

thanks for the info! Do you can explain me how to do this? (I use VB#, but I also can read C#...)

Thanks a lot!

Alex

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 17, 2005 9:49 am

Hi Alex,

You can have a look at the Permanent Custom Axes example available at the TeeChart for .NET features demo included within it's installation. If you click the edit button you will see the custom axes and that you can set it's position using pixels.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:51 am

Hi Alex,

My technical department colleagues told me that this feature is just implemented for TeeChart for .NET v2 which will be the next release.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:27 pm

Dear Narcis,

the described method won't work, because if you change the units to pixels it is (still) not possible to enter a value more than 100 pixel (still using maximum with 100). Maybe a bug???

Do you know a different method to do? Is there a way to calculate how many pixel the axis is long?

Best regards

Alex

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Mon Jan 17, 2005 3:55 pm

Dear Alex,

You are right, this doesn't work using the chart editor, but can be done run-time using:

Code: Select all

axis1.PositionUnits=Steema.TeeChart.PositionUnits.Pixels;
axis1.StartPosition=400;
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Tue Jan 18, 2005 9:23 am

Dear Narcis,

the change in PositionUnits to Pixels do not work. The Position Units are still Percent, either I change it to Pixel or not.

Code: Select all

            Dim Axis_h As New Steema.TeeChart.Axis(True, True, .Chart)
            .Axes.Custom.Add(Axis_h)
            Axis_h.PositionUnits = Steema.TeeChart.PositionUnits.Pixels
            Axis_h.StartPosition = 50
            Axis_h.EndPosition = 200
The axis starts in 50% and ends in 200% of the chart.

Is there a different way to get the size of an axis in amount of Pixel?

Thanks in advance!

Alex

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:05 am

Dear Alex,

Yes, you are right. I have added it to our deffect list to be fixed for future releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jan 18, 2005 10:50 am

Dear Alex,

In fact, the PositionUnits is only for Relative Position so using the following code works.

Code: Select all

axis1.PositionUnits = Steema.TeeChart.PositionUnits.Pixels; 
axis1.RelativePosition = 80;
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Wed Jan 19, 2005 7:52 am

Dear Narcis,

OK, but is there a way to calculate the length of an axis in kind of pixels?

Thanks!

Best regards

Alex

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 pm

Hi Alex,

you can use IAxisSize :

int size = tChart1.Axes.Bottom.IAxisSize;

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:51 am

Hi Pep,

thanks for the hint. That's it. :D

But it's not me if there is'nt still a problem left: :roll:
Make a form, make a tabcontrol (e.g. 2 pages), place in each tabpage a tchart, make a button which fills the chart with values. All OK to now.
Then get the IAxisSize values of both charts -> the chart which is not in front and not visible (e.g. you look on tabpage1/chart1, you can't see tabpage2/chart2) -> the IAxisSize of the "behind" chart is "0".

Do you know this and how to solve? Update and refresh don't change this behaviour...

Thanks!

Alex

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:24 pm

Hi Alex,

hmm..the problem is that the IAxisSize cannot be calculated until the Chart is displayed, so until you click over the Tab2. For the moment the only workaround I've found is to chaning the Selected tab and back to the original (however I'm sure you're aware of this option) , but maybe there's a way to make the TabControl draw the controls without having to click over the tab.

Alex
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Austria/Europe

Post by Alex » Sun Jan 30, 2005 11:16 am

Hi Pep,

maybe it's possible to change the algorithm to calculate the IAxisSize? Do you can check if the .NET2005 has the same Tabcontrol behaviour?

As I heard, for the next release of the Tchart.NET the isometric feature is included. Does this feature work with the described tabcontrol behaviour?

By the way, will there be a .Netv2 beta?

Thanks!

Alex

Post Reply