Issue with Large amount of data in TeeChart

TeeChart for Microsoft Visual Studio .NET, Xamarin Studio (Android, iOS & Forms) & Monodevelop.
Post Reply
Areef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:00 am

Issue with Large amount of data in TeeChart

Post by Areef » Wed Sep 20, 2006 2:41 pm

Hello,
I have an issue with TeeChart where if I send a large Datatable (with 2500 to 15,000 rows of data). The table seems to end in the middle.
To clarify, the line graph will suddenly drop to 0 in the middle fo the graph and the rest of the graph will be blank.


The Charts were put inside a Snippet.

I have 2 images in my computer, how do i post pictures?

Thanks

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:00 pm

Hi Areef,

It works fine here using the latest TeeChart for .NET v2 Debug Build available at the client area and the code below. Which TeeChart version are you using? Could you please modify my code so that we can reproduce the issue here?

Code: Select all

    private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
    {
      CreateTable();
      LoadData();
    }

    DataTable sourceTable;
    DataColumn colY, colX, colLabels;

    private void CreateTable()
    {
      Random r = new Random(255);

      // Create DataTable
      sourceTable = new DataTable("sourceTable");
      colY = new DataColumn("YValues", Type.GetType("System.Double"));
      colX = new DataColumn("XValues", Type.GetType("System.Double"));
      colLabels = new DataColumn("Labels", Type.GetType("System.String"));

      sourceTable.Columns.Add(colY);
      sourceTable.Columns.Add(colX);
      sourceTable.Columns.Add(colLabels);

      // Add table items.
      DataRow NewRow;
      for (int i = 0; i < 15000; i++)
      {
        NewRow = sourceTable.NewRow();
        NewRow["YValues"] = r.Next();
        NewRow["XValues"] = i;
        NewRow["Labels"] = "";
        sourceTable.Rows.Add(NewRow);
      }
    }

    private void LoadData()
    {
      line1.Clear();

      line1.DataSource = sourceTable;

      line1.YValues.DataMember = "YValues";
      line1.XValues.DataMember = "XValues";
      line1.LabelMember = "Labels";

      line1.CheckDataSource();
    }
Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Areef
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:00 am

Post by Areef » Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:21 pm

Thank you for the reply, the way that we have create our chart is not using CheckDataSource() method,

We use

TeeChart.tc.Series(k).AddXY(xDVal, yDVal, xVal.ToString(), (uint)PenColor[k]);

Ccould you please tell me what this line of code does.(I am just picking up the code) Thanks.

TeeChart.tc.Series(0).VerticalAxis= TeeChart.EVerticalAxis.aBothVertAxis;

I can only imagine its something to do with the Vertical Axis.

I am also getting a "Catastrophic failure" exception
at TeeChart.IPNGExport.SaveToStream()

Could you just breifly explain what those are

Thanks and Regards,
Areef

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Thu Sep 21, 2006 8:17 am

Hi Areef,

Could you please send us an example we can run "as-is" to reproduce both problems here? You can post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup.
Ccould you please tell me what this line of code does.(I am just picking up the code) Thanks.

TeeChart.tc.Series(0).VerticalAxis= TeeChart.EVerticalAxis.aBothVertAxis;

I can only imagine its something to do with the Vertical Axis.


This code assigns both default vertical axes (left and top) as vertical axes for this series.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Post Reply