Page 1 of 1

TeeRecompile using non-tee units

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 6:53 am
by 9341795
Hi,
I would like to modify the behavior of how TChart draw axis labels. In order to that I want to modify the unit TeEngine.pas and in that unit I want to call a unit I written myself (MyUnit.pas). However, I cannot get TeeRecompile to to find this unit. If I place MyUnit.pas in the Tee source folder, TeeRecompile DELETES the unit and then comes up with an error message of not finding it. I've tried to put MyUnit.dcu in $(BDS)\lib but that did not make TeeRecompile find it either. I guess that TeeRecompile calls the command line compiler but how can I make it use the right parameters?

I've tried to install TeePro8 through the Delphi (2007 pro) IDE but that does not work either. (I get errors about entry points missing and not finding dclado100.bpl etc.)

By the way, the Install.txt file that comes with the source code needs updating. It does not even mention Delphi 2007!

Help please,
Michael

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:57 am
by narcis
Hi Michael,

I tried adding a new unit (*.pas and *.dfm files) in TeeChart's source code folder. I included this unit in the uses section of TeEngine.pas and ran TeeRecompile. It compiled the sources correctly, didn't remove unit's files and generated corresponding *.dcu and *.dfm in TeeChart's sources compiled folder. Could you please try if the same process works fine for you?

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:59 pm
by 9341795
Hi Narcis,

Mea culpa! I meant using the compiled unit, MyUnit.dcu. When I put MyUnit.dcu in the source folder (or any other folder I could think of) I got:

Cannot recompile Delphi package: Tee811.dpk
CodeGear Delphi for Win32 compiler version 18.5
Copyright (c) 1983,2007 CodeGear

TeEngine.pas(36) Fatal: F1026 File not found: 'MyUnit.dcu'
EXCEPTION:
Compilation aborted.
--------------------------------------------

and MyUnit.dcu was removed from the source folder. When I tried using MyUnit.pas in the source folder, it worked as you said! Is there a folder/setting I can use for compiling with MyUnit.dcu?

Best regards,
Michael

Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 10:10 am
by yeray
Hi Michael,

If you want to use a dcu generated externally you will have to copy it to delphi's lib folder. I've tried it here and it worked for me.
The problem is that TeeRecompile deletes everything in the "compiled" folder in order to avoid conflicts and that's why he can't find the dcus placed there. But TeeRecompile should find the dcus from delphi's lib folder.

Posted: Sun May 04, 2008 1:55 pm
by 9341795
Thanks :D
Michael