Page 1 of 1

Borland C++ 7

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:42 am
by 8571714
I've upgraded to Borland C++ Builder 2007, and need to bring my TeeChart along with it. Is there an estimated release date for an installer for C++ Builder 2007, or alternatively is there some other avenue I can use to install TeeChart?
Thanks,
Rich

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:00 am
by narcis
Hi Rich,

We are trying to solve an issue with BCB 2007 that wasn't present in previous BCB versions. We will try to post an installer as soon as we find a solution to this problem.

News on Borland C++ Builder 7?

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:36 pm
by 9344303
Hi Narcís:

I was just wondering if there were any news on when you might have an installer for BCB7. Are you going to create an installer for TeeChart Pro 7, or will you just start with 8?

Thanks,
Rich

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:13 am
by Pep
Hi Rich,

the latest installer v7.12 available on our web site (at the private customers download page) should work fine with bcb2007. Have you test it ?

Borland C++ 7

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 2:47 am
by 9344303
Thanks! I didn't know about the new version. I've installed it successfully, and started trying to use it, and have encountered a couple of issues.

First, the Help system seems to be incompatible with Vista. It is not accessible from the Start menu or the Borland Help menu, and the Help files themselves cannot be run because they are in Windows Help format (WinHelp32), which is no longer supported in Vista. Is there a Vista-compatible version of the Help yet?

Second, there appear to be some syntax differences, probably due to some change in Borland, or perhaps some compiler setting. In my old program I could set a TLineSeries value using a command like:
MySeries->YValues->Value = 1
Although this code still compiles, when the program gets to this line I inevitably get a System::DynArrayOutOfRange error. However, if I change the syntax to:
*MySeries->YValues.Value = 1
it works. Is this a problem with the TeeChart installation, or is there a Borland setting I can change, or do I need to alter all of my assignment statements?

Thanks,
Rich

Borland C++ 7

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2007 3:18 am
by 9344303
Hi Josep:

Let me amend my previous message on a few points.

With regard to the Help system, it seems Vista will let me download the old WinHlp32.exe and run it, but it still would be nice if the TeeChart help were in whatever new format is required to merge with the other Borland documentation in Vista.

As for syntax, the example solution in my previous post works only in the debugger, and will not compile. To make things work, I need to change:
MySeries->YValues->Value = 1
to
MySeries->YValues->Items = 1

Another difference is that some Series properties give odd behavior. For example,
int i = MySeries->YValues->Count
will give nonsense for i (although MySeries->YValues->Count will work fine in the debugger), but
int i = MySeries->Count()
works fine.

More severely, I get an access violation error whenever I try to display a THighLowSeries, even though I verify via a data dump that the values in the series are OK. The error triggers in TeEngine.

Is there something new (or wrong) with how certain dynamic access operations are now handled?

All of these things used to work in TeeChart 7 of BCB6. Any help or hints anyone can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Rich

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:29 pm
by Pep
Hi Rich,

sorry for delay!
About your problems/questions :
With regard to the Help system, it seems Vista will let me download the old WinHlp32.exe and run it, but it still would be nice if the TeeChart help were in whatever new format is required to merge with the other Borland documentation in Vista.
The integration of the Help into the RAD Studio has not been possible due to an IDE bug. As you said Vista does not support hlp files (but allows to download the utility to open them).
We've updated the hlp file (converting it to chm) for the actual TeeChart Pro v8. This chm includes all the stuff (Tutorials, Help , reference , index,..).
I'm sorry but we don't have a prepared chm file for the TeeChart Pro v7.12, but if you want we can send to you the v8 file.
As for syntax, the example solution in my previous post works only in the debugger, and will not compile. To make things work, I need to change:
MySeries->YValues->Value = 1
to
MySeries->YValues->Items = 1

It's really strange, we've not changed anything related with that. I've just test it here with clean CBuilder2007 with TeeChart Pro v7.12 and worked fine.
Maybe you have changed any option of the IDE ?

Another difference is that some Series properties give odd behavior. For example,
int i = MySeries->YValues->Count
will give nonsense for i (although MySeries->YValues->Count will work fine in the debugger), but
int i = MySeries->Count()
works fine.

Same as before, I test it here and worked fine using :
int i = Series1->YValues->Count;

Have you tried to do the same on other machines ?

More severely, I get an access violation error whenever I try to display a THighLowSeries, even though I verify via a data dump that the values in the series are OK. The error triggers in TeEngine.

Is there something new (or wrong) with how certain dynamic access operations are now handled?

I cannot reproduce it here. Please try to check all of these things on another machine and if you still having problems send us a simple project with which we can reproduce it here.

C++ Builder 7

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 4:32 am
by 9344303
Hi Josep:

Thanks for looking into my problems. As it turns out, it was my fault: I had not added the new run-time packages for 7.12 to my project. It was interesting that almost everything else worked without them... Anyway, I'm sorry if I wasted your time.

Adding the run-time package solved all of my problems, except for one, and I'm not sure whether the fault lies with me, TeeChart, or Borland. When I build my project using the "Speed" optimization setting, I get an Access Violation (Read or Write -- it varies) when I delete a point from a chart and at the same time delete an element from a vector that I use in parallel with the chart, and is referenced in a "BeforeDrawSeries" action. If I do anything to slow it down (run in debug mode, or even put a message box call in a strategic location) the error does not occur. When I run it with Borland's Code Guard, it reports no memory leaks or other access problems. It even runs OK if I select all of the individual optimization options -- it's the "Speed" that does it.

My guess is that this is threading issue, and the TeeChart is trying to draw the series at the same time as the vector operation is occurring. Anyway, I've reproduced the error in a small project, which I can send you. How is that best accomplished?

Thanks,
Rich

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:35 am
by narcis
Hi Rich,

We're glad to hear your previous problems are solved.

You can send us your files either at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.

Borland C++ 7

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:33 pm
by 9344303
Josep and Narcis:

I've uploaded the files (TeeTest.zip) from a Borland C++ 7 project, starting from an SDI app. To see the error, build in Release configuration. Click on the chart, and a point will be deleted, causing the error. If I build with the Debug configuration (or simply turn off the "Speed" optimization off), or I uncomment the MessageDlg line in the OnClick routine, no error will occur.

In my real application, the vector that parallels the TSeries has more information that I use to draw additional features on the chart; this is just a simplified version. A version of my application generated with my old compiler (BCB6 on a Windows XP machine) and an earlier release of TeeChart 7, with Speed build optimization turned on, does not generate this error.

Let me know if you have any questions, and thanks for your assistance.

Best,
Rich

Posted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 2:05 pm
by narcis
Hi Rich,

Thanks for the example project.

I've tried it using latest TeeChart Pro v7 version available at the client area, C++ Builder 2007 with Update 2 installed (released earlier this week), checking that all the conditions you mentioned where as reported and couldn't reproduce the problem here.

Should the problem appear just after removing one point in the series? Could you please test if installing update 2 solves the problem at your end?

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 5:24 am
by 9344303
Hi Narcís:

The Borland Update 2 solved the problem. All is good.

Thanks,
Rich