Page 1 of 1

no grid lines when printing

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 4:57 am
by 8575642
Hello,

I've got a problem where whenever I print a chart I don't get any grid lines. They're visible in the TChartPreviewer window, but they don't appear on the printout.

I've tried changing the settings of the TChartPreviewer component - if I set cpoAsBitmap to true, then I do get grid lines...but the text looks shocking, it's extremely small and blocky. Changing the PrintResolution doesn't have any effect. I've also tried changing the grid settings before executing the TChartPreviewer like this:

TrendChart->BottomAxis->Grid->Color = clBlack;
TrendChart->LeftAxis->Grid->Color = clBlack;

TrendChart->BottomAxis->Grid->Style = psSolid;
TrendChart->LeftAxis->Grid->Style = psSolid;

TrendChart->BottomAxis->Grid->Width = 2;
TrendChart->LeftAxis->Grid->Style = 2;

TrendChart->BottomAxis->Grid->Mode = pmBlack;
TrendChart->LeftAxis->Grid->Mode = pmBlack;

ChartPreview->Execute();

and then setting the values back to their original values after the trend is printed. I thought it may have been a problem with dotted lines or a non-black colour being printed, but those changes don't make any difference.

I just can't understand why the grid lines are visible in the preview but don't make it to the printer. Can anyone explain why this is happening or tell me what I need to change in order to fix it?

Thanks

Andrew

Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:29 pm
by narcis
Hi Andrew,

Have you checked if this happens only in one printer or in all printers?

If this only happens with the printer you are using then you could try changing printer's device driver.

If the problem happens with all printers could you please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here and let us know which TeeChart version are you using?

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:23 am
by 8575642
Worked it out - it appears to be specific to particular printers (although the vast majority that I tested (HP) didn't work). I was on the right track with my workaround - changing axis Grid->Color to clBlack fixes the problem...I just needed to do it on my custom horizontal and vertical axes.