Page 1 of 1

Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:03 am
by 16582633
Hi,

Hopefully you can help me with a strange (and very annoying) issue. I created a small test application in relation to topic http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... =3&t=16897.
All I did was placing a TChart on the form in order to experiment with some visual settings. Suddenly, the application will no longer start with an EReadError; "Property HoverElement does not exist".

I can't seem to figure out how to fix this. I removed the series (and added a new one), removed the entire chart (and added a new one) and even removed the property from the DFM;

Code: Select all

  object Series1: TLineSeries
    HoverElement = [heCurrent]      <=== TRIED TO REMOVE THIS LINE
    VertAxis = aRightAxis
    InflateMargins = False
    Pointer.InflateMargins = True
    Pointer.Style = psRectangle
    XValues.Name = 'X'
    XValues.Order = loAscending
    YValues.Name = 'Y'
    YValues.Order = loNone
  end
However, none of these options work. I did notice this property was changed (moved to TSeries), but I am on version 2018.24.180321 (32 bit VCL) so it should all work.
Any suggestions?

Thanks and regards,
Mark

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:06 am
by yeray
Hello,

Indeed, the HoverElement property was introduced in v2017.23 so it shouldn't be a problem in v2018.24.
If you create a series at runtime, can you access this property normally?
I'd suggest you to make sure the correct TeeChart version is referenced in the paths.

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:35 am
by 16582633
Hello Yeray,

Kind of strange. There was a path listed that appeared to reference an older (2017) version, albeit for TeeTree.

As changing things around didn't make a difference, I decided to remove all paths listed (in Tools / Options -> Delphi Options -> Library, Library Path) and re-install TChart. Just before closing Delphi (Tokyo 10.2.3), I decided to give it another try and much to my surprise it worked!!

This means all is working without any library path defined. What paths should I have and how can it work like this?

Regards,
Mark

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:09 am
by yeray
Hello Mark,

If the error appeared at design time, it makes sense that reinstalling the design-time package could make a difference. If you still find problems at design-time, I would suggest you to close the IDE and run TeeInstall.exe from the TeeChart v2018.24 installation (selecting "No" if it asks you to "Uninstall" will actually Reinstall it).

Then, I would check the paths (help here) with no project loaded, create a new project, place a chart into the form and run it.

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 2:01 pm
by 16582895
I am having the same problem as I try to move the charts to mobile. Works find on VCL not in FMX. Downloaded and install version 26 did a complete build, still same issue. Is there a way to turn hover off so I can move on?

Ray

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:16 pm
by Marc
Hello Ray,

To disable Hover:

Code: Select all

Chart1.Hover.Visible := False;
Regards,
Marc Meumann

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:48 pm
by 16582895
Marc

Your suggestion did not work.
dbchart.hover.visible := False;

I still get an error deploying on android Property HoverElement does not exist.

Help, trying to port chart to mobile.

Ray

Re: Property HoverElement does not exist

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:06 pm
by 16582895
Marc

I check the paths and I was still loading version 22, made the change using the path information and It worked and looked great.

Thanks for your help.

To all others check your library paths, first. Looks great on mobile.
Ray