Page 1 of 1

Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:24 am
by 16561173
Hello Steema support people,
I have here an issue with the contour series. some time ago we have had trouble getting out Load Cell wall (LCW) plots correctly with this type of chart because of white triangles (see ).
But at least since TChart 2012 the problem has gone. My new ploblem now is, that the filling area will not match the contour series border lines with our real world data sets.
If I use generated data for the fill everything will look nice:
Demodata.png
Demodata.png (37.57 KiB) Viewed 5336 times
If I use our data I have differences:
Realdata.png
Realdata.png (37.97 KiB) Viewed 5324 times
We have tried several option but could not find a solution. So I prepared a small demo application in Delphi XE2 using TChart 2012_06_120613.

Please find it attached.
TChart_LCW_Problem.zip
(106.97 KiB) Downloaded 311 times
So Is this a problem of the component or the programmer :wink: ?

Thanks,
Dirk

Re: Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2012 2:20 pm
by yeray
Hi Dirk,

There are some units (and so some components and functions) we don't have, so your application doesn't compile as-is here.
- Unknown units: FLEdit, IAT_String and IAT_JustSet_Komps.
- Unknown component: FLE_Levels:TFloatEdit
- Unknown function: zerlegestringfast1()
- Unknown function: JustSetCheckBox()

And removing the unknown elements I get a compilable project, but I get an Out of Bound error when pressing the "LCW Data" or "Automatic levels" buttons. And I get a range check error when clicking the "Test Samples".

Please, verify it.

Re: Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:15 am
by 16561173
Sorry Yeray,
I really must apologize for the trouble. I simply played around with the example and forgot to clean up to normal components.
Now everything should be included to recreate the issue and dynamic fields have been removed.

Bye,
Dirk
TChart_LCW_Problem_b.zip
(108.1 KiB) Downloaded 337 times

Re: Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 12:16 pm
by yeray
Hi Dirk,

Thanks for it. It now runs without errors.
I see in the code in Button_LCWDataClick:

Code: Select all

  //...
  If Sender = Button_LCWData then
  begin
    Chart1.LeftAxis.Automatic := False;
    Chart1.BottomAxis.Automatic := False;

    Chart1.LeftAxis.Minimum := 0;
    Chart1.LeftAxis.Maximum := 1337.5;

    Chart1.BottomAxis.Minimum := -1000;
    Chart1.BottomAxis.Maximum := +1000;
    //...
However, when pressing that button, the data being loaded goes from Z 142 to 1268 and X from -938 to 938. That's why setting the minimum and maximums above results in the margins in your pictures.
Changing it for the following to let TeeChart calculate the axes min and max for you, seems to work fine for me here.

Code: Select all

  //...
  If Sender = Button_LCWData then
  begin
    Chart1.LeftAxis.Automatic := False;
    Chart1.BottomAxis.Automatic := False;

    {Chart1.LeftAxis.Minimum := 0;
    Chart1.LeftAxis.Maximum := 1337.5;}
    Chart1.LeftAxis.Automatic:=true;

    {Chart1.BottomAxis.Minimum := -1000;
    Chart1.BottomAxis.Maximum := +1000;}
    Chart1.BottomAxis.Automatic:=true;
    //...
Don't hesitate to let us know if there's anything else you want us to check.

Re: Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:14 pm
by 16561173
Hello Yeray,
I guess I have not explained clearly the problem we have in this example. It is not that the plot did not fill the complete graph area. You are right that we could establish this by setting the axis to automatic.
The fixed axis limits are intended to visualize the LCW geometric always in the same scaling.

The issue is that in the FillSampleValues-Example the colored areas are always surrounded by black lines that are matching the contour of the color region.
But in our LCW-plots the colored areas (levels) do not match the border lines. It seems the border lines are drawn for different values?

The two buttons below are just to show you that there are also more simple configurations available that leads to this mismatch.

I have added some arrows to point at some mismatch areas.
BorderLines.png
BorderLines.png (40.85 KiB) Viewed 5270 times
So any recommendation is welcome to overcome this issue.

Thanks for you help and bye,
Dirk

Re: Contour Series Fill not matching contour lines

Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2012 8:13 am
by yeray
Hi Dirk,

Sorry, I misunderstood you.
I'm afraid this is a known complex issue. And I'm afraid we haven't a solution to it besides completely redesigning Contour and IsoSurface series.
You'll find how it has been discussed in several threads:
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtop ... ace#p45359