Barseries, overlapping bars

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Wed Sep 04, 2013 9:16 am

Hi.
When I resize the graph the barseries does overlap. Before2&3.png
What I would like to do is have x number of points(x-axis) with y numbers of barseries to each x-value.
In this case to points (x) 20111, 42111 and 15 barseries (y) to each.

How can I prevent the bars form overlapping?
And I also want an spacing between the points on the x-axis.
Something similar like in the After.png. But not such an big spacing.
After.png spacing is created by adding x-axis point 20112

I have uploaded an zip attachment containing Before/after

Thanks
JohnA
Attachments
Barseries.zip
(131.57 KiB) Downloaded 397 times

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by Narcís » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:49 am

Hi JohnA,

Are you using MultiBar property? I recommend you to have a look at the examples at All Features\Welcome!\Chart Styles\Standard\Bar\Side All Layout in the new features demo, available at TeeChart's program group. If this doesn't help please attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:59 pm

Hi.
I can not find the features demo.
It is not located under the TeeChart's program group.

thanks
Attachments
Uten navn.png
Uten navn.png (7.43 KiB) Viewed 9209 times

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by Narcís » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:06 pm

Hi JohnA,

That's the source code version. Demos, tutorials and documentation ares only included with the binary installers to keep the source code version as small as possible. Moreover, source code customers also have access to the binary installers. We recommend to install them prior to the source code version to have access to those resources.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Wed Sep 25, 2013 2:39 pm

Hi.
I uninstalled with source code
Installed binary
installed with source code and recompiled.

When I'm starting the new features demo I get this error.
Attachments
Skjermbilde.PNG
Skjermbilde.PNG (16.8 KiB) Viewed 9209 times

JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Wed Sep 25, 2013 2:41 pm

In case you do not understand norwegian ;)

roughly translated to "Procedure Entry Point did not exist in the dynamic link library"

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by Narcís » Wed Sep 25, 2013 2:43 pm

Hi JohnA,

That's probably because the .bpl it was compiled with no longer exists as it was overwritten by the source code generated package. In that case you should open the demo project (Tee9New.dpr) at C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart 2013 for RAD XE4\Examples\Features, for example, and compile it with your current TeeChart version.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:21 am

Hi.
I was not able to solve this with the multibar property.
I have attached an sample project demonstrating the problem.
You can se that the bars overlapping.
What I'm looking for is 2 groups of bars: 20111 and 42111 (x-values)
and a space between them

thanks
Attachments
BarSeries.zip
(82.79 KiB) Downloaded 387 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by Yeray » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:47 am

Hi JohnA,

What about setting a smaller bar width percent?

Code: Select all

  for i:=0 to Chart1.SeriesCount-1 do
    (Chart1[i] as TBarSeries).BarWidthPercent:=75;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

JohnA
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:00 am

Re: Barseries, overlapping bars

Post by JohnA » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:11 am

Thanks.
The chart look better now :)

Post Reply