TRibbon rebuilds itself when using TMarksTipTool

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Mat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:00 am

TRibbon rebuilds itself when using TMarksTipTool

Post by Mat » Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:39 am

I am seeing a very odd behaviour. (See attached RAD Studio XE2 - update 4 - project.) When I use the TMarksTipTool for showing a tooltip on a TChart series, the first time you use it to show a tooltip on the series, the application's TRibbon rebuilds itself. It isn't only the first time the application runs, but with my simple attached sample project, it is only reproducible the first time. In my real application, it happens frequently throughout the lifecycle of the project, and since the ribbon is much more complicated, it takes longer and is more obvious when rebuilding.

I'd be very grateful to anyone who could explain to me why this is happening and how to workaround or resolve it.

To reproduce the problem, run the attached project and carefully watch the ribbon while you single-mouse-click on the only bar in the chart's bar series.

Thanks,

Mat
Attachments
TooltipRibbonRebuildProject.zip
Project for reproducing the issue
(84.81 KiB) Downloaded 256 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TRibbon rebuilds itself when using TMarksTipTool

Post by Yeray » Tue Jun 05, 2012 9:41 am

Hi Mat,

I think it's not a TeeChart-related problem because if you add a TButton with the following code, the Ribbon does the same without any TeeChart operation:

Code: Select all

procedure TParentForm.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Screen.HintFont:=Font;
end;
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Mat
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:00 am

Re: TRibbon rebuilds itself when using TMarksTipTool

Post by Mat » Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:40 am

Thanks for looking in to this and providing me with an easy way to reproduce it. I'll pass this along to Embarcadero.

Mat

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TRibbon rebuilds itself when using TMarksTipTool

Post by Yeray » Wed Jun 06, 2012 8:39 am

Hi Mat,

You're welcome. I hope they can help you.
I've voted for your ticket at Quality Central
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply