TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Construsteel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:00 am
Contact:

TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Construsteel » Tue Jan 18, 2011 11:15 am

Hello,

We're having a problem with a chart that contains a TKnobGauge.
In runtime, we set the following properties :

TKnobGauge(lSerie).ActiveCenter := True;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).Maximum := 100000;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).Minimum := 0;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).Axis.Increment := 10000;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).Value :=25000;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).GreenLine.StartValue := 0;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).GreenLine.EndValue := 70000;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).RedLine.StartValue := 80000;
TKnobGauge(lSerie).RedLine.EndValue := 100000;

Now, if the user wants to change the value of the gauge by turning the center,
it increments only by 1. On a scale from 0 to 100.000 it takes forever to
make a full turn.

Is there a way to set the increment of the center?

Regards,
Willem

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Yeray » Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:00 pm

Hi Willem,

You mean through the Editor?
Note that the editor is designed to be used by the programmer, not by the final user.
In this case, there is a Value textbox where the big steps can be directly written.
However, you can always make you own editor and make the buttons on it to work as you want. Or, if you are a source code customer, feel free to change the editor's behavior.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Construsteel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Construsteel » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:23 pm

Hello Yeray,

Thank you for your response, but no, i don't mean through the editor.

The end user must be able to change the value by mousedragging on the centre hub, that's why 'ActiveCenter' is true.
And while this works fine with smaller numbers, the problems emerges when bigger numbers are used.

Mousedragging the centrehub increments the value by 1 at a time.
(At least that's the minimum increase in value i could manage)

If the KnobGauges maximum is set to 100,000, a full circle with the mouse dragging will increment the value by approximately 50.
Now, if an user wishes to change the value from 1 to 20,000, he or she would have to make 400 circles while dragging the mouse over the hub
to get to the desired value.

Regards,
Willem

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Yeray » Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:00 pm

Hi Willem,

Excuse me, I think I understood you now.
Certainly, in the internal event that controls the value, it changed in one unite, positive or negative. I've modified the sources so the Value in this event now changes in ((Maximum-Minimum)/100), positive or negative.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Construsteel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Construsteel » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:26 pm

Hi Yeray,

Does that mean it will be available in a future release?

Regards,
Willem.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Yeray » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:41 pm

Hi Willem,

Yes, I've added it to the actual sources and this means that the next maintenance release will include the change.
If you are a source code customer, I can send you the unit modified or you can modify it yourself as the change is quite little.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Construsteel
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:00 am
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Construsteel » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:09 am

Hi Yeray,

Unfortunately i'm not a source code customer, so i'll just have to wait for the release.
Thank you very much for your time and effort!

Best regards,
Willem

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: TKnobGauge increment with activecenter

Post by Yeray » Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:04 am

Hi Willem,

You're welcome!
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply