ChartEditor (Tree mode) problems

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
Miket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

ChartEditor (Tree mode) problems

Post by Miket » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:53 am

Hi Narcis,

As you suggested I decided to start a new thread concerning Chart Editor (Tree mode) problems. Probably there are several issues, but lets consider them one by one.

I uploaded "Miket_ChartEditor.zip" (steema upload page) with a project (Rad studio 2007 Win32) demonstrating the probrem(s). Please, see comments in the source file for details. Teechart version 8.01 (September).

I am ready to test all modifications of the source. In my big project I often face the situation when something is modifying a chart, sometimes it happens when ChartEditor dialog is opened. It is simulated in the example with the help of a timer, but reality, of course, is much more complicated.

So I am ready to test your fixes in "real" life.

Best regards,
Michael

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:24 am

Hi Michael,

Thanks for the example project. I just got an Access Violation folllowed by 'Control 'TabSeriesList; has no parent window' error selecting the series title under the "series" node. I've added it (TV52012464) to our defect list to be fixed for next releases.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Miket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Miket » Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:30 am

Hi Narcis,

I believe that this example helps to reveal several similar problems. You will be able to obtain errors in different places of Teechart using different sequencies of node selections. For example, try to select "Data" node first, or try to play with Series node and its subnode.

Best regards,
Michael

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Sep 21, 2007 1:28 pm

Hi Michael,

Thanks for the information.

I could reproduce the "Data" node error as well an added it to the defect list. However, it seems the same problem as the other issue as it gives the same error in the same line of code. Regarding the series node and subnode issue it's what I already meant in my previous post.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Sep 21, 2007 2:28 pm

Hi Michael,

After investigating the issue a little bit I found the problem is the timer. When the editor is running timer is removing and creating series and therefore exceptions occur when series related tabs are being opened. You can avoid that disabling the timer before opening the editor and enabling it again after the editor is closed, for example:

Code: Select all

procedure TForm14.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
  Timer1.Enabled:=false;
  ChartEditor1.Execute;
  Timer1.Enabled:=true;
end;
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Miket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

It is a very limiting solution!

Post by Miket » Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:33 pm

Hi Narcis,

Of course, I know that the problem is caused by timer. I used timer in order to simulate much more complicated situation typical for multithreaded applications: some thread computes something and updates the contents of a chart from time to time (of course, in the contest of the main thread using Synchronize, for example). It may happen, that a user opens Chart Editor in order to change some settings. So your solution means that I must block access to the Chart Editor while computations are running. It is rather limiting approach, I would prefer to find much more flexible solution.

It is also necessary to stress, that in Tree=false mode everything works smootly.

Please, check my comments in the code, there are proposals to comment some lines in order to reveal other problems with Chart Editor.

Best regards,
Michael

pemar13
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 5:00 am

Post by pemar13 » Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:10 pm

Although I have no access to Miket's example code, I can confirm that we see similar problems ('Control XX has no parent window') using the version 7.12 code.

As I wrote in a previous topic, Bug fixes in version 8, the most important issue for us that use TeeChart as a 3rd party tool in our own software product is that the number of bugs is small and that existing bugs are fixed (as opposed to constantly added new features with possibly associated new bugs). We cannot constantly invest in new versions just to find out that old bugs still remain!

Marc
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1258
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Girona
Contact:

Post by Marc » Fri Oct 05, 2007 2:27 pm

Thankyou for your comments.

Steema tries to make as many necessary fixes as possible to any outstanding bugs during the lifecycle of a full version and to continue where possible to provide update support for critical issues after a version is superseded by a following version. TeeChart Pro VCL version 7 has been available through more than 3 years of numerous maintenance releases through which many issues have been dealt with successfully. We hope our customers feel that the quality of the product offers a good return on their investment and that timely full version updates still present better value than an annual subscription fee might do. We would be happy to discuss views on a continuous subscription approach with any customers interested in doing so.

Regards,
Marc Meumann
Steema Support

Miket
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Post by Miket » Fri Oct 05, 2007 7:23 pm

Dear Mr. Marc Meumann,

Please note, that my initial post was related to the latest TeeChart 8.01 (September) release. I had submitted a test case project clearly demonstrating a problem(s) in the Chart Editor, when it works in tree mode.

Unortunately I didn't receive a constructive reply on the subject (see messages in this thread and the test case).

I also submitted another test cases related to RoundMinimum and RoundMaximum properties problems during beta testing of the 8.xx release. Unfortunatly these problems are not fixed in the 8.01.10798 release as well.

Please, take into account that preparation and submission of each test case definitely requires significant efforts and time. I even indicated sections of problematic TeeChart code with suggestions for changes.

Sincerely,
Michael

Post Reply