stack overflow error with TQRchart and XPman

TeeChart VCL for Borland/CodeGear/Embarcadero RAD Studio, Delphi and C++ Builder.
Post Reply
wvisser
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:00 am

stack overflow error with TQRchart and XPman

Post by wvisser » Thu Apr 27, 2006 5:29 pm

I have a problem with TQRchart. It was already there in TeeChart Pro v7.06. Still there in v7.07. I add a TQRchart to QuicpReport Pro 4.06, then add a TLineSeries in code and then a few points:

procedure TForm1.AddLineButtonClick(Sender: TObject);
var
ALineSeries : TLineSeries;
begin
with Chart1 do
begin
ALineSeries:=TLineSeries.Create(Self);
AddSeries(ALineSeries);
ALineSeries.Add(3800,'444',clBlue);
ALineSeries.Add(3300,'444',clBlue);
end;
end;

Next I use CloneChartSeries to copy the chart into a TQRchart and preview the report:

procedure TForm1.ReportBtnClick(Sender: TObject);
var
i : integer;
begin
Form2.QRChart1.Chart.FreeAllSeries;
Form2.QRChart1.Chart.Assign(Chart1);
// 6000
for i:=0 to Chart1.SeriesCount-1 do
CloneChartSeries(Chart1).ParentChart:=Form2.QRChart1.Chart;

Form2.QuickRep1.Preview;
end;

Next I get a 'Stack overflow' error. Funny thing is: it only happens if I use the XPman unit.

The complete small test project with code I will upload on this special upload thing.

Any ideas?

thanks Wilfried

wvisser
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:00 am

Post by wvisser » Thu Apr 27, 2006 7:16 pm

I think I found the solution to my run time problem:

I traced the stack overflow error down to the TQRDBChart.Invalidate procedure along the following call stack after starting the preview :

QrTee.TQRDBChart.Invalidate
:0054d0ef TQRDBChart.Invalidate + $F
:0053e422 TCustomTeePanel.DrawToMetaCanvas + $2A
:0053dca1 TCustomTeePanel.TeeCreateMetafile + $85
QrTee.TQRChart.Print(127,127)
QuickRpt.TQRCustomBand.Print
QuickRpt.TCustomQuickRep.PrintBand(???)
QuickRpt.TQRController.PrintEmptyController
QuickRpt.TQRController.Execute
QuickRpt.TQuickRep.Execute
QuickRpt.TCustomQuickRep.CreateReport(False)
QuickRpt.TCustomQuickRep.Preview
TestUnit1.TForm1.ReportBtnClick(???)

I do not know what TQRDBChart is for on my quickreport : mine is not data aware.

The code of the invalidate method is:

procedure TQRDBChart.Invalidate;
begin
if AutoRepaint and Assigned(Parent) then
Parent.Invalidate;
end;

So i decide to set QRDBChar1.AutoRepaint to false prior to the preview and my problem is solved.

Still a very flickering Design time chart however. I wonder if I should go back to version 7.05

Hope this helps Teemach to fix this bug. Remember: only with XPman !

regards, Wilfried

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:42 pm

Hi wvisser,
Still a very flickering Design time chart however. I wonder if I should go back to version 7.05
We fixed that issue with v7.07. Can you please test that the qrtee.pas unit you are using is the one shipped with v7.07 binary installers, not the one as a free download in the web?

We need to update those installers but in the mean-time you need to use that unit. Also, new TeeRecompile tool shipped with source code installer already compiles TQRChart packages with your current TeeChart and QR version.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

wvisser
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:00 am

Post by wvisser » Sat Apr 29, 2006 8:37 am

The QrTee.Pas in my ..TeeChartPro7\Delphi10\Quickreport folder was dated 20-2-2006. I assume this one is installed by the 7.07 binary installer. It cannot be installed by the D10 updates since it is in a separate TeeCharPro path.
The 7.07 full source has a QrTee.pas dated 10-4-2006 ! and is different on many locations.
I simply used this newer QrTee.Pas and rebuild the QRTee packages and the problem was fixed.
I presume the 7.07 binary installer does not install the correct QrTee.pas correct ?

regards,
Wilfried

wvisser
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 12:00 am

Post by wvisser » Sun Apr 30, 2006 6:48 am

I re-tried the TQRChart without setting the AutoRepaint property to false. I then still get a Stack overflow !
I think there still is a problem with this in the 7.07 version: with the AutoRepaint option the chart paint procedure somehow gets in a recursive loop, as described in my posts above.

Pep
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3295
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2003 5:00 am
Contact:

Post by Pep » Mon May 15, 2006 9:00 am

Hi,

I cannot reproduce the problem here, using the latest v7.07 sources available on our web site. Could you please check if it happens with the latest sources and if it still happening please send me a simple app. (directly to my mail account pep@steema.com) with which I can reproduce the problem here ?

Post Reply