Page 1 of 1

How To Return Y-Value of a Series?

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:32 pm
by 13050364
Im still trying to get the point of intersection of a vertical line (Cursor Tool) and a Series on a T-Chart. Im looking for the Y-value of the Series (not a screen co-ord)

Im developing a Windows application in Visual C# (not an ASP.NET web -based app).


Ive added a TeeChart to a windows form. Its called Chart1

In the windows form constructor Ive the following code:

Chart1.Series.Add(Voltages);
mainCursor = new Steema.TeeChart.Tools.CursorTool(Chart1);

mainCursor.FollowMouse = true;
mainCursor.Style =Steema.TeeChart.Tools.CursorToolStyles.Vertical;
mainCursor.Pen.Width = 1;
mainCursor.Pen.Color = Color.Red;
mainCursor.Pen.Style = System.Drawing.Drawing2D.DashStyle.Dash;

mainCursor.Change += new CursorChangeEventHandler(mainCursor_Change);


Then in the Cursor change event:

void mainCursor_Change(object sender, CursorChangeEventArgs e) {

mainCursor.Series = voltageLines;
mainCursor.SnapToPoint();

}


If I do:

double x1 = mainCursor.XValue;
double y1 = mainCursor.YValue;

then y1 is the value of the mouse position. Not the y-intersection of the Series which is what I want.

Ive already checked this link but it doesnt help since Im not using the Chart_OnCursorToolChange event which provides 7 parameters.
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtopic.php?t=4161

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:27 pm
by narcis
Hi Dave,
Ive already checked this link but it doesnt help since Im not using the Chart_OnCursorToolChange event which provides 7 parameters.
http://www.teechart.net/support/viewtopic.php?t=4161
I'm afraid this is the only option I can think of. You'll get all necessary parameters with the AxTeeChart.ITChartEvents_OnCursorToolChangeEvent e parameter, for example:

Code: Select all

			axTChart1.Tools.get_Items(e.tool).asTeeCursor.XVal
or:

Code: Select all

			e.xVal

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:56 pm
by 13050364
Narcis

Sorry but you've completely lost me. Im new to working with the TeeChart software.

My compiler doesnt recognise this.

axTChart1.Tools.get_Items(e.tool).asTeeCursor.XVal


I replaced axTChart1 with Chart1 (the name of my chart) but it still doesnt recognise this code.

regards

Posted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:02 pm
by narcis
Hi Dave,

Looking at your code syntax again it makes me think you are using TeeChart for .NET. Can you please confirm this? If that's the case, could you please post your future technical inquiries at TeeChart for .NET's forum?

If you are using TeeChart for .NET you should do the same as in the All Features\Welcome !\Chart styles\Standard\Line(Strip)\Interpolating line series example in the features demo, available at TeeChart's program group. Full demo project sources can be found at C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart for .NET v3\Examples\DemoProject.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 9:04 am
by 13050364
Hi Narcis

Yes you are right it is the .NET version. I asssumed since Im developing a Windows applicaton it was be the ActiveX version. I will report on the .NET forum.
Thanks.