Page 1 of 2

OnDrawAxisLabel Event

Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 3:56 pm
by 15047998
I try to make the minimum label of the top and bottom axis left-bound and the maximum label right bound using the OnDrawAxisLabel Event - for a custom horizontal axis.

Text alignment works - BUT....

A) The labels get shifted downwards to the center of the Top Axis - how can I get them back up?? (this is for Bottom and Top axis)

B The number of axis returned from the OnDrawAxisLabel event are different than the one from the OnClickAxis event - means the botton axis is assigned the number 0 - which is supposingly '3'

C)How can I identify the minimum and maximum label value on a custom axis - currently I cannot read any value from a custom value. Is this a serious bug or do I need to do anything else then calline Minimum and Maximum values from the custom axis of interest.

Thanks,


Hugh

Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 11:57 am
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Please find below the answers to your questions:

A. Could you please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here? You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

B. I could reproduce the issue here and added it to the bug list to be reviewed for next releases.

C. I replied to the other thread you posted about this issue.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 2:06 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

It looks like not only Tchart is not working properly - but also your server as I tried to upload an example as requested.

I'm trying to create simple multiple vertical stripcharts - and having all those manymany troubles with TeeChart - I am getting very frustrated. I am buring days and days to debug a quite expensive product without any perspective of succes. This is not a student project that might ever work or not.

Knowing all my problems with using TeeChart (in particular in the labview environment, only one event working.....) , do u honestly think its worth continuing to try to get TeeChart working for my project - if not I would apprecciate if you could name me other competitor products thats worth investigating.

thanks,

Hugh

Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:04 pm
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Yes, we have had networking problems with www.steema.net today. Seems to have been solved now.

Regarding the problems with LabView, we are investigating the issue with National Instruments technical support department and will get back to you when we have further news.

BTW: Another customer who also uses LabView said he found a workaround for the events issue. I've asked him to share the workaround in the forums.

Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 3:20 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

there is a similar workaround to the one Chris is supposing - you just can register/unregister events on the fly - BUT - it still stays the same problem - there is only one event registered and how does the program know which event you need - is it a simple click or a double click - or just a click on the axis???

How do I overcome the issues with the custom axis - how do I know which axis triggers the event?

I am trying very hard to use your (companies) product - and it gets more and more frustrating as there is no light to see the end of the tunnel - but I feel like a beta tester stepping from one trap to the other ... if you would not do as a great job with very fast responses I would have run away since a long time.... thanks...

... but still does not change the fact that I currently I cannot use Teechart in its current beta-release state...

...is therer any older version that might not have as many fancy features but does the job - I know you guys are around quite some time... and pobably did a lot of debugging over the years...

as said - I just want to create multiple vertical strip charts side by side - not using individual charts but using custom axis - If you could show me how to do that I am more than glad to follow your advice - thanks

Hugh

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:40 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

have not heard from you for a long time...

Please let me know if its possible to create multiple vertical strip charts -side by side - not using individual charts but using custom axis - If yes - please show me how to do that.

If it is not possible - please give me that contacts where I can claim my money back as mayor functionalities are not working in TeeChart as advertised. :wink:

thanks,
Hugh

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:52 pm
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Sorry for the delayed reply.
How do I overcome the issues with the custom axis - how do I know which axis triggers the event?
We found there's some inconcistence on this area so we added the issue (TA05013070) to our defect list to be reviewed for next releases.
Please let me know if its possible to create multiple vertical strip charts -side by side - not using individual charts but using custom axis - If yes - please show me how to do that.
I recommend you the custom axis examples at All Features\Welcome!\Axes in the features demo. You may also be interested in having a look at Tutorial 4 - Axis Control, demo and tutorials are available at TeeChart's program group.
If it is not possible - please give me that contacts where I can claim my money back as mayor functionalities are not working in TeeChart as advertised.
If you are not satisfied with TeeChart you should contact our Sales Dept at sales at steema dot com.

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:02 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

Thanks for the prompt reply -

I did study all samples, all kind of tutorials availlable to me - spent lots if time - but was not succedssful in what I wanted to do because of the 'inconsitencies'...

what is the timeframe to get those issues resolved - when is a new release availlable?

thanks,

Hugh

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:06 pm
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Ok, then please let me know how your chart should look like exactly and I'll try to arrange a VB6 example for you. An image would be helpful.

At the moment I can't tell you when this will be fixed. A date for the next maintenance release hasn't been established yet.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:40 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

I really would appecciate if somebody could draft me a way how to accpomplish what I need to do - thanks again for your help.

I created the type of teechart - and sent the native configuration in a file called: "VerticalStripChart-Sample.tee" - I hope that works.

One of the issues I could not overcome is to avoid overlapping of first and last hoizontal axis labels......

Thanks,

Hugh

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:06 pm
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for the example chart. What would you like to do with overlapping lables? The easiest solution I can think of is hidding zero label of custom axes, for example:

Code: Select all

Private Sub Form_Load()
    TeeCommander1.Chart = TChart1
    
    TChart1.Import.LoadFromFile "C:\temp\HughExample\VerticalStripCharts-SAMPLE.tee"
End Sub

Private Sub TChart1_OnGetAxisLabel(ByVal Axis As Long, ByVal SeriesIndex As Long, ByVal ValueIndex As Long, LabelText As String)
    'If it's the first label of a custom axis
    If ((Axis > 4) And (LabelText = "0")) Then
        LabelText = ""
    End If
End Sub

Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:13 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

thanks - I had in mind aligning the first label leftbound - and the last label rightbound - anyway - I cannot use your suggestion nor mine as I cannot determine the first label (minimum is not neccessarily "0") nor the last label because of the wrong axis numbers returned from the event..... I told you I studied all the examples and know most of the techiques that would solve my problems - BUT get stuck with Teechart and Labview bugs......

My suggestion is that your programmers should include a first label leftbound/ last label rightbound functionality - and I am sure many people would send you guys love letters for that ... another suggestion that would help dramendously is to remove different handlings of left/right/top/bottom axes and custom axes - why not only use custom axes and forget the standard ones??? - or just remove the restriction that one cannot use custom axis if no standard axes are defined...

Any news on the single event labview issue - is the problem TeeChart or Labview related???

thanks,

Hugh

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:12 am
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for the info.
My suggestion is that your programmers should include a first label leftbound/ last label rightbound functionality - and I am sure many people would send you guys love letters for that ... another suggestion that would help dramendously is to remove different handlings of left/right/top/bottom axes and custom axes - why not only use custom axes and forget the standard ones??? - or just remove the restriction that one cannot use custom axis if no standard axes are defined...
This is already possible doing something like this:

Code: Select all

Private Sub Form_Load()
    TeeCommander1.Chart = TChart1
    TChart1.Import.LoadFromFile "C:\temp\HughExample\VerticalStripCharts-SAMPLE.tee"
End Sub

Private Sub TChart1_OnDrawAxisLabel(ByVal Axis As Long, ByVal X As Long, ByVal Y As Long, LabelText As String)
    'This event doesn't support custom axis

    If Axis = 0 Then 'Bottom axis
        With TChart1.Axis.Bottom
            If X = .CalcXPosValue(.Minimum) Then 'first label
                TChart1.Canvas.TextAlign = ctaLeft
                TChart1.Canvas.Font.Bold = True
            Else
                If X = .CalcXPosValue(.Maximum) Then 'last label
                    TChart1.Canvas.TextAlign = ctaRight
                    TChart1.Canvas.Font.Bold = True
                End If
            End If
        End With
    End If
End Sub
However, OnDrawAxisLabel event doesn't support custom axes. This is a known issue (TA05013071) on our bug list to be fixed for next releases.
Any news on the single event labview issue - is the problem TeeChart or Labview related???
Not yet, National Instruments support department suggested it's a TeeChart related problem but we still need to do more investigation on this field.

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:02 pm
by 15047998
Narcis,

I am very aware that it is possible to have any label customized - but needs lots of programming - and continous check of min and max values - especcially when using custom axis (and changing them programmatically) thats tedious and unneccessary work for the programmer - why not make a programmers work easier

Hugh

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:06 pm
by narcis
Hi Hugh,

I understand your point. Ok, I've added your request to our wish-list to be considered for inclusion in future releases.