Page 1 of 1

Holes in IsoSurface and Contour graphs

Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:34 pm
by 9526464
Hello Steema Support,

I have uploaded an example of an IsoSurface plot (holes_in_isosurface.tee, 5124 bytes) that renders incorrectly, showing "holes" in the surface. You can open the plot using a current version of TeeChart office.

A similar problem occurs in Contour plots, where the triangles do not overlap completely, resulting in the background of the chart showing.

Also, Contour and IsoSurface plots of flat regions (i.e. all Y-values are the same) do not get shaded correctly and show strange circular patterns. If you would like, I can upload/post code to reproduce.

Please investigate these issues and let me know if you need more information and how quickly can this be fixed.

Thanks!

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:52 am
by narcis
Hi Andrew,

Code: Select all

I have uploaded an example of an IsoSurface plot (holes_in_isosurface.tee, 5124 bytes) that renders incorrectly, showing "holes" in the surface. You can open the plot using a current version of TeeChart office.
I've been able to reproduce the issue here and added it (TV52012990) to the defect list to be fixed for future releases.

I'm not able to give an estimate date for a fix at the moment.
Also, Contour and IsoSurface plots of flat regions (i.e. all Y-values are the same) do not get shaded correctly and show strange circular patterns. If you would like, I can upload/post code to reproduce.
Yes please. It would be very helpful if you posted a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:41 pm
by 9526464
Hi Narcis,

I have uploaded a file, "contours_not_filled_in_2D.tee", that demonstrates other problems I encounter with Contour and IsoSurface plots. The following is a list of issues and steps to reproduce:

1. Contour.Filled property is not persisted when chart is saved and reloaded.

This can be reproduced by opening the file "contours_not_filled_in_2D.tee" in TeeChartOffice (notice it opens with Filled=OFF) -> edit series -> Filled ON -> save chart -> close -> reopen -> Filled is OFF.

The following three problems occur when there are flat regions in the graph.

2. Contour graphs don't get filled in 2D mode.

Reproduce by opening the file "contour_not_filled_in_2D.tee", changing the Contour.Filled property to ON and then setting View3D to OFF. The result is that the graph is drawn in black outline and is not filled.

3. When there is a flat region in the Contour plot, the flat sections do not get painted in when the contours are filled. Applies to IsoSurface as well.

To reproduce, open the file "contours_not_filled_in_2D.tee" and enable the Filled property for the contour plot. There will be a 3x3 hole in the middle of the graph. To reproduce with IsoSurface, change the series type to IsoSurface.

4. In the same circumstances as problem 3, enabling the "smooth" option for the Contour series with or without interpolation results in confusing circular contours.

Thanks in advance for checking this out!

Posted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:02 am
by narcis
Hi Andrew,

Please find below the answers to your questions:
1. Contour.Filled property is not persisted when chart is saved and reloaded.
I could reproduce the issue here and added it (TV52012996) to the defect list to be fixed for future releases. In the meantime a workaround is setting the series brush being solid after importing the chart:

Code: Select all

    TChart1.Import.LoadFromFile "c:\temp\contours_not_filled_in_2D.tee"
    TChart1.Series(0).asContour.Brush.Style = bsSolid
2. Contour graphs don't get filled in 2D mode.
I'm not able to reproduce the issue here neither using TeeChartOffice 3.0 shipped with TeeChart Pro v8.02 VCL nor using TeeChart Pro v8.0.0.3 ActiveX. Which TeeChart version are you using?
3. When there is a flat region in the Contour plot, the flat sections do not get painted in when the contours are filled. Applies to IsoSurface as well.
I could also reproduce this issue here and added it (TV52012998) to the bug list.
4. In the same circumstances as problem 3, enabling the "smooth" option for the Contour series with or without interpolation results in confusing circular contours.


I could reproduce this and added the issue (TV52013000) to the defect list as well.