Page 1 of 1

TeeChart Pro v5 ActiveX Control and Visual Studio 2005

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 2:35 am
by 6920571
Hi,
I am moving my development system - Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 C++ and version 5.02 TeeChart Pro v5 ActiveX to a new PC. I have problems compiling TChart related code as follows:
this->axTChart1->Series(0)->Clear();
produces the following error:
'Clear' : is not a member of 'TeeChart::ISeries'
and the IDE keeps telling me that Series is an int property.
this->axTChart1->Aspect->Zoom = 100;
produces the following error:
'Zoom' : is not a member of 'TeeChart::IAspect'

All this work on the old PC with the same Studio and TeeChart. I even tried installing on the new PC the latest 5.0.6.0 TeeChart but the result is the same.

Please help!

Thank you in Advance!
Vesselin Vitchev

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:13 am
by narcis
Hi Vesselin,

Are you running the very same project on both machines? Have you checked that the new machine project has the same includes as the old project?

If the problem persists please send us a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here.

You can either post your files at news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments newsgroup or at our upload page.

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 5:21 pm
by 6920571
Hi Narcis,

Thank you for your prompt reply!
Yes, I am using the same project. And all the project settings are the same.
I created a simple project "TestTeeChart" on the old PC with a TChart component and a call to Series(0)->Clear(). It has the same behavior - compiles OK on the old PC and gives me he same error on the new one. I uploaded this project to your upload page.

I also tried to create the same project (with a different name) on the new PC. It failed with error "... Series is not a member of TeeChart" or something like this.

So, I think, either some settings of the Studio are wrong, or the control is not registered properly.

Any idea?

Thank you in advance.

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:16 am
by narcis
Hi vesko,

Thanks for the example project. It works fine for me here.

Do you have the same TeeChart5.ocx registered in both machines? You could search for "TeeChart5.ocx" in the machine's registry and if necessary unregister and register controls like I described here.

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 3:15 am
by 6920571
Hi Narcis,

I found the problem. The /FU compiler options on the new PC does not include "Interop.TeeChart.1.0.dll". It only includes "AxInterop.TeeChart.1.0.dll". On the old PC the two are included. After I added the missing /FU option, it worked.

I am not sure where did the VS get these options from (the "Forse #using" lists, which are supposed to generate the /FU options are empty on the two PCs) but I can live with it.

Thank you for your support! I got the idea of checking these options from your recommendations.

Best regards,
Vesselin Vitchev

Posted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:15 am
by narcis
Hi Vesselin,

You're welcome. I'm glad to hear you found the solution to the issue.