Page 1 of 1

Decades on Logarithmic Axis?

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:52 pm
by 9081534
When setting an axis to logarithmic, the grid spacing just gets smaller and smaller until max or min and shows values between decades. A logarithmic chart usually decreases grid spacing within decades and shows only decade values. Is there any way to achieve this?
Thanks

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:08 pm
by narcis
Hi ellab_user,

Using TeeChart Pro v7.0.0.6 ActiveX and the code below I cannot see what you report. Could you please tell me which TeeChart version you are using and what we should do to reproduce the problem here? If you want you can post an example or a screen-shot at [url]news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments[/url] newsgroup.

Code: Select all

Private Sub Form_Load()
    TChart1.Series(0).FillSampleValues 1000
    TChart1.Axis.Left.Logarithmic = True
End Sub

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 3:31 pm
by 9081534
I'm using TeeChart ActiveX version 6

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:34 pm
by narcis
Hi ellab_user,

I'm unable to reproduce this problem here using latest v6 version. Could you please send us an example we can run "as-is" or a screen-shot of the problem you are reporting?

Thanks in advance.

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:45 am
by 9081534
This is basically how we want it to look:
http://www.123hjemmeside.dk/walleco/2332302?i=2824926

This is what we get with TeeChart
http://www.123hjemmeside.dk/walleco/2332302?i=2824929

I hope this helps

Thanks

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 7:46 am
by 9081534
This is basically how we want it to look:
http://www.123hjemmeside.dk/walleco/2332302?i=2824926

This is what we get with TeeChart
http://www.123hjemmeside.dk/walleco/2332302?i=2824929

I hope this helps

Thanks

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 10:18 am
by narcis
Hi ellab_user,

I've posted an image of what I get trying to reproduce the wrong chart you posted. The image I posted is at the attachments newsgroup ([url]news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments[/url]) and the message subject is the same as this forums thread. Could you please check it?

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:16 am
by 9081534
Our ISP news server does not seem to have news://www.steema.net/steema.public.attachments

Is there any other free news server that may carry it?

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 11:43 am
by narcis
Hi ellab_user,

You just need to configure your newsreader with www.steema.net being a news server. All the settings are default ones. Then subscribe to the attachments newsgroup.

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 1:46 pm
by 9081534
OK - I'm not sure what was giving the problem before, but i used the for loop to add data, and now i get the decades :D . Is there any way to show grid lines between the decade grid lines?
Thanks

Posted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 2:59 pm
by narcis
Hi ellab_user,

Yes, you can use:

Code: Select all

Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim NumPoints As Integer

    TeeCommander1.Chart = TChart1

    NumPoints = 10
    For i = 0 To NumPoints
        TChart1.Series(0).Add (NumPoints - i) * (NumPoints - i), "", clTeeColor
    Next

    With TChart1.Axis.Left
        .SetMinMax 0, 1000
        .Logarithmic = True
        .MinorGrid.Visible = True
        .MinorGrid.Color = .GridPen.Color
        .MinorGrid.Style = .GridPen.Style
        .MinorTickCount = 10
    End With
End Sub