Page 1 of 1

Problems With Tools and Custom Axis

Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 8:12 am
by 9525351
I've just upgraded from TeeChart v5 to v7.0.0.3 and am seeing a reproducable problem with the "Tools" feature in TeeChart. When first adding a tool, for example a "color band", to a chart using the TeeEditer at design time, it is automatically identified as "ChartTool1". If you add multible tools ("color band"s), at the same time, they are all identified as "ChartTool1". This condition of mutible ChartTools with all the same identification causes TeeCharts to crash with a message of "Unexpected Error" and then the TeeChart Control is destroyed and becomes a "Picture Box" item on the form.

If you just add one Tool, then close the editor, and then reopen the editor and add another tool, this next new tool is identified as "ChartTool0", then when adding additional tools they become "ChartTool2, ChartTool3, ...etc.". The Chart will now load.

I am also haveing a problem with Custom Axis identification in my code. This is a little more complex to explain so I might post again when I have more time. Basicly though, when accessing the Min & Max axis values for a custom axis, every axis index is off by one. For example the correct Min/Max axis values for Axis.Custom(9) are found at Axis.Custom(10).

I'm in the process of upgrading two previous project from TeeChart v5 to v7 and first I tried the "upgrade utilities" but experienced these problems. Then I decided to rebuild the project from scratch using only TeeChart v7 and I am still having these problems.

Regards,

Michael Rekoff
Tallahassee, Florida USA

Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:25 am
by Pep
Hi Michael,
I've just upgraded from TeeChart v5 to v7.0.0.3 and am seeing a reproducable problem with the "Tools" feature in TeeChart. When first adding a tool, for example a "color band", to a chart using the TeeEditer at design time, it is automatically identified as "ChartTool1". If you add multible tools ("color band"s), at the same time, they are all identified as "ChartTool1". This condition of mutible ChartTools with all the same identification causes TeeCharts to crash with a message of "Unexpected Error" and then the TeeChart Control is destroyed and becomes a "Picture Box" item on the form.
Yes, you're correct, it's a bug, we'll try to fix it for the next maintenance release v7.04.
I am also haveing a problem with Custom Axis identification in my code. This is a little more complex to explain so I might post again when I have more time. Basicly though, when accessing the Min & Max axis values for a custom axis, every axis index is off by one. For example the correct Min/Max axis values for Axis.Custom(9) are found at Axis.Custom(10).
Again you're correct, I'm able to reproduce it here. Also added on our defect list.
I'm in the process of upgrading two previous project from TeeChart v5 to v7 and first I tried the "upgrade utilities" but experienced these problems. Then I decided to rebuild the project from scratch using only TeeChart v7 and I am still having these problems.
To be able to upgrade your existing projects from v5 to v7 you must first install the TeeChart Pro v6 (contact with Steema sales at sales@steema.com so they can give you the necessary info to download the v6) , upgrade from v5 to v6 and then from v6 to v7.

Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:54 am
by 9525351
Thanks for responding so quickly.

Regarding the issue with Custom Axis indexes, this problem seems particuarly unfortunate for users of TeeCharts. In my projects that use TeeCharts, I utilize a list of constants to identify Custom Axis indexes so its not a big problem to adjust the value of these constants and have the programs work with v7.0.0.3. However, when the issue gets corrected I will have to go back and change the values of these constants again. Did other v7 releases prior to v7.0.0.3 have this problem with Custom Axis Indexes and if not, could I obtain a copy of a previous v7 release?

Regards,

Michael Rekoff
Tallahassee, Florida USA

Posted: Tue Dec 28, 2004 10:50 am
by Pep
Hi Michael,

this happens since the first v7 release (v7.02). Using the v6.06 works fine. If you're insterested in use the v6.06 and you don't have the info to download it please contact with steema sales and they will give you.