Page 1 of 1

Editor dialogs.

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:15 am
by 9530487
Hello all,

I've been trying to make use of the various "ShowEditor" functions, eg
CFrameBrush::ShowEditor()
CGradient::ShowEditor(BOOL OnlyStartColor)
CGridBandBrush::ShowEditor()
CLegend::ShowEditorShape()
CLegend::ShowEditorLegend()
CMarks::ShowEditorShape()
CMarks::ShowEditorMarks()
CMarksItem::ShowEditorShape()

But there are two frustrating things.
1. The dialog can fall behind other dialog boxes.
2. These functions have no return value to indicate if the user clicked "OK" or "Cancel".

So I have two questions.
1. Can these be modified so that I can provide a handle to the parent window so the dialog stays on top of my app? Or can I set the parent window before calling on these dialogs?
2. Can I have a return value to indicate if the user clicked "OK" or "Cancel".

And a small bug, a call to
Series(0).GetMarks().ShowEditorMarks();
Shows the whole graph editor, not just the editor for the marks.

Tony.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:27 am
by 9530487
Couple of more slight niggles.

Series(0).GetMarks().ShowEditorShape();
This dialog has no title.

CTChart tempChart;
tempChart.ShowEditor(0);
This dialog is the chart editor again (rather than the series editor).

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:06 pm
by narcis
Hi Tony,
1. Can these be modified so that I can provide a handle to the parent window so the dialog stays on top of my app? Or can I set the parent window before calling on these dialogs?
Really? Those are modal dialogs for me here. Can you please attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
2. Can I have a return value to indicate if the user clicked "OK" or "Cancel".
Properties are directly applied to the chart when being modified in a dialog so I'm not sure if this really applies to chart editor dialogs. Anyway, I have added it to the wish-list (TA05015158) to be considered for inclusion in future releases.
And a small bug, a call to
Series(0).GetMarks().ShowEditorMarks();
Shows the whole graph editor, not just the editor for the marks.
I could reproduce this and added the issue to the defect list (TA05015156) to be fixed.
Series(0).GetMarks().ShowEditorShape();
This dialog has no title.
Ok, added this one to the list too (TA05015157).
CTChart tempChart;
tempChart.ShowEditor(0);
This dialog is the chart editor again (rather than the series editor).
This opens the chart editor but with the series tab and indexed series selected.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 2:59 pm
by 9530487
CTChart tempChart;
tempChart.ShowEditor(0);
This dialog is the chart editor again (rather than the series editor).
This opens the chart editor but with the series tab and indexed series selected.
Yes, it's just I would have expected to see a series editor.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:03 pm
by 9530487
1. Can these be modified so that I can provide a handle to the parent window so the dialog stays on top of my app? Or can I set the parent window before calling on these dialogs?
Really? Those are modal dialogs for me here. Can you please attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?
The standard TChartFeature demo does it (on my machine at "C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v8.0.0.7 ActiveX Control\Examples\Visual Basic\TeeChartAXV8Demo\TeeChartv8FeatureDemo.exe").

Run it, select "All features", "Chart Styles", "Standard", "Line (Strip)" then click the "Edit" button to display the chart editor. Now you can click both the chart editor and the feature demo on the windows task bar, clicking the feature demo brings this up on top of the chart editor.

Click "Format" when editing one of the series, click "Pattern", and again, you can now select all three windows using the task bar.

Does this happen for you?

Tony.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 3:12 pm
by 9530487
And a small bug, a call to
Series(0).GetMarks().ShowEditorMarks();
Shows the whole graph editor, not just the editor for the marks.
I could reproduce this and added the issue to the defect list (TA05015156) to be fixed.
Any time estimate on when this (or anything else since the March release) will be fixed? I could use this feature now.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 7:05 am
by narcis
Hi Tony,

I think there will be another v8 maintenance release but I can't tell you what will be fixed in this version at this stage.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:14 am
by narcis
Hi Tony,

Sorry, I forgot that part:
The standard TChartFeature demo does it (on my machine at "C:\Program Files\Steema Software\TeeChart Pro v8.0.0.7 ActiveX Control\Examples\Visual Basic\TeeChartAXV8Demo\TeeChartv8FeatureDemo.exe").

Run it, select "All features", "Chart Styles", "Standard", "Line (Strip)" then click the "Edit" button to display the chart editor. Now you can click both the chart editor and the feature demo on the windows task bar, clicking the feature demo brings this up on top of the chart editor.

Click "Format" when editing one of the series, click "Pattern", and again, you can now select all three windows using the task bar.

Does this happen for you?
Ok, I see. Yes, the same occurs here. I added this to the wish-list (TA05015162) to be enhanced too.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 12:48 pm
by 9530487
This bug still seems to be in TeeChart 2011.

Or am I missing a call to stop any if the TChart dialogs falling behind the application main window?

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:05 pm
by narcis
Hi Tony,

I'm afraid not. I checked the issue hasn't been fixed yet and have increased its priority on the list.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 1:39 pm
by 9530487
Any chance of a quick fix?

This one is very annoying for my users and they have already had to put up with it for a long time. I'm happy to call a SetParent function (or similar) if that helps.

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:50 pm
by 9530487
It's there for all the dialogs I have experimented with (eg, click on the border or pattern when formatting a series in the TeeEditor, you can click the TeeEditor window in the windows task bar to bring it on top of the border editor).

Re: Editor dialogs.

Posted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 8:13 am
by 10050769
Hello TonyVSUK,

Thank you, for the information, we consider it to fix the bug. The bug with number (TA05015162), as told NarcĂ­s, is in wish-list in high severity but I can not provide a estimate date of when next maintenance release will be published, because last release is of 2 of September. I recommend you to be aware at this forum, our RSS news feed, twitter and facebook accounts for new release announcements and what's implemented on them.

Thanks,