Removing Tools

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
PS Soluções
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Removing Tools

Post by PS Soluções » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:46 pm

Hi, I'm having problems trying to remove a Tool from the chart.Tools collection. I'm using TeeChart ActiveX and C#.

First, I add tools using this code. I keep all Toos in a Array.

Code: Select all

int index = chart.Tools.Add(EToolClass.tcColorLine);
ITools tool = mChart.Tools.get_Items(index);

// code to set tool properties

toolCollection.Add(tool); // keep for later use
Later, I want to remove a specific Tool, since I don't have its index...

Code: Select all

ITools toolToRemove = ; // here I select the tool to be removed
for (int i = 0; i < chart.Tools.Count; i++)
{
   if (chart.Tools.get_Items(i) == toolToRemove )
   {
      chart.Tools.Delete(i);
      break;
   }
}
But I can't find de saved tool object inside chart.Tools, and the tool is never removed.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by Yeray » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:58 am

Hi PS Soluções,

Looking into the same toolCollection it seems to work fine:

Code: Select all

        TeeChart.ITools[] toolCollection;

        private void InitializeChart()
        {
            axTeeCommander1.ChartLink = MyChart.ChartLink;

            MyChart.AddSeries(TeeChart.ESeriesClass.scLine);

            MyChart.Series(0).FillSampleValues(25);       

            toolCollection = new TeeChart.ITools[4];
            int index = MyChart.Tools.Add(TeeChart.EToolClass.tcColorLine);
            TeeChart.ITools tool = MyChart.Tools.get_Items(index);
            toolCollection[0] = tool; // keep for later use
        }

        private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            TeeChart.ITools toolToRemove = toolCollection[0]; // here I select the tool to be removed
            for (int i = 0; i < MyChart.Tools.Count; i++)
            {
                if (toolCollection[i] == toolToRemove)
                {
                    MyChart.Tools.Delete(i);
                    break;
                }
            }
        }
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

PS Soluções
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by PS Soluções » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:24 pm

Is this code correct? I want to go into MyChart.Tools and remove a specific tool in which I have a reference (in the variable toolToRemove) but not its index.

Code: Select all

        private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            TeeChart.ITools toolToRemove = toolCollection[0]; // here I select the tool to be removed
            for (int i = 0; i < MyChart.Tools.Count; i++)
            {
                if (toolCollection[i] == toolToRemove)
                {
                    MyChart.Tools.Delete(i);
                    break;
                }
            }
        }
What I'm trying to do is:

Code: Select all

        private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            TeeChart.ITools toolToRemove = toolCollection[0]; // here I select the tool to be removed
            for (int i = 0; i < MyChart.Tools.Count; i++)
            {
                if (MyChart.Tools.get_Items(i) == toolToRemove)
                {
                    MyChart.Tools.Delete(i);
                    break;
                }
            }
        }

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by Narcís » Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:00 am

Hi PS Soluções,

Sorry for the delayed reply :(. I'm not sure which is your exact problem here. Is Yeray's suggestion working for you or is still not working? If not, could you please attach a simple example project we can run "as-is" to reproduce the problem here?

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

PS Soluções
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by PS Soluções » Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:55 pm

Here a simple example project to show the problem I'm having.

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
TeeChartToolTest.zip
Example project in .NET 2.0 and TeeChart Pro 8 ActiveX
(13.06 KiB) Downloaded 541 times

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by Yeray » Tue Oct 13, 2009 2:13 pm

Hi PS Soluções,

I'm not sure to see why the comparison doesn't work as expected so I'll add this to be revised in further releases.

In the meanwhile maybe we can think on a workaround but probably the easiest one would be understanding how your user is going to choose the tool to remove. Then maybe we can identify the position or the index of the tool and delete it without needing to loop into the Chart tools list.

Another workaround I can think would be having an array of integers parallel to the list of ITools and use it to store the according indexes. The problem with this solution is that every time a tool is removed, the tools with index greater than the removed tool, will change their index. That means that this array of indexes should be accordingly maintained.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

PS Soluções
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by PS Soluções » Tue Oct 13, 2009 8:17 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. Both suggestions for a workaround were close to what I thought initially and I'll implement them.

Thanks again.

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9601
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Re: Removing Tools

Post by Yeray » Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:47 am

Hi PS Soluções,

I'm happy to see that you are satisfied with those suggestions but let me insist. It would be interesting for us to know how your user is going to select a tool in order to understand the sense of having another list of tools.
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Post Reply