Datasources and null points

TeeChart for ActiveX, COM and ASP
Post Reply
Ashutosh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:00 am

Post by Ashutosh » Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:48 am

Hi Narcis,
I have some more queries regarding the TeeChart Activex Control v8:
1. How can I add dataset as data source for the Chart.
2. If the series gets empty or null value for a data point, how can we show a gap in the line series.
To make it more clear let's say we have 10 ponits to draw a chart for the points 1 to 4 we have some data and point 5 is blank. in that case how can we show a gap on the line and resume from point 6 onwards. We are using fast line series.

Please help as soon as possible.
Thanks and regards
Ashutosh

Narcís
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14730
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 4:00 am
Location: Banyoles, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Narcís » Tue Jan 27, 2009 11:05 am

Hi Ashustosh,
1. How can I add dataset as data source for the Chart.
You need to do as shown in Tutorial 8 - ADO Database access. Tutorials can be found at TeeChart's program group.
2. If the series gets empty or null value for a data point, how can we show a gap in the line series.
To make it more clear let's say we have 10 ponits to draw a chart for the points 1 to 4 we have some data and point 5 is blank. in that case how can we show a gap on the line and resume from point 6 onwards. We are using fast line series.
This can be achieved using new TreatNulls property as shown in the What's New?\New in Series\Fast Line TreatNulls example at the features demo, also available at TeeChart's program group.
Best Regards,
Narcís Calvet / Development & Support
Steema Software
Avinguda Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia
Tel: 34 972 218 797
http://www.steema.com
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Instructions - How to post in this forum

Ashutosh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:00 am

Post by Ashutosh » Fri Jan 30, 2009 5:05 am

Hi Narcis,

I have uploaded an image file here http://www.steema.net/upload/ which displays a sample chart with gaps for the null values data. How can I achieve the same. Kindly note that the chart in the image is TeeChart Activex control.

Let me know in case of any more clarifications needed.

Thanks and regards
Ashutosh

Yeray
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9602
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Girona, Catalonia
Contact:

Post by Yeray » Fri Jan 30, 2009 8:18 am

Hi Ashustosh,

Having the property "IgnoreNulls" to false:

Code: Select all

TChart1.Series(0).asFastLine.IgnoreNulls = False
you should set the property "TreatNulls" as you wish. The property:

Code: Select all

TChart1.Series(0).asFastLine.TreatNulls
And the three possible values:

Code: Select all

tnDontPaint
tnSkip
tnIgnore
Best Regards,
ImageYeray Alonso
Development & Support
Steema Software
Av. Montilivi 33, 17003 Girona, Catalonia (SP)
Image Image Image Image Image Image Please read our Bug Fixing Policy

Ashutosh
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:00 am

Post by Ashutosh » Mon Feb 02, 2009 4:45 am

Hi Narcis, Yeray

This is to say you Thanks a lot for your support and suggestions. This has been relly great pleasure to work with such support which you provide.

Thanks and regards
Ashutosh Prasad

Post Reply